"There was an error joining AirPort network" - HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by HelixOmnimedia, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. HelixOmnimedia macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #1
    Today I bought the Belkin G+ Mimo Modem Router, I've set it up to connect to the internet - everything seems fine the now.

    But...
    I'm trying to setup the wireless internet with security encryption... Neighbor is home from uni and i don't want her accessing my wireless internet. I contacted Belkin to see how to set it up, they talked me through the "web interface" and how to activate it - pass phrase and key generated.

    Now...
    When I go wireless i click on the Airport and select the network "Belkin_Mimo" and it asks for a WEP Key: So i enter the key that was generate and click Connect...
    However i get the following error message:

    "There was an error joining AirPort network "Belkin Mimo"- OK or TRY AGAIN

    Have i done something wrong? Or is there some sort of setting that i need change?

    THANKS
     
  2. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I have seen answers to similar posts which mention putting a $ character first, followed by the wep key itself. See if that helps.
    I don't bother with WEP or WPA myself, I just use MAC address filtering and don't broadcast the SSID of your network.
     
  3. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #3
    I'll try the $ symbol before the wep key.

    I know nothing about security, i just don't want computer I don't know to connect to net through my network. What's the difference between what i'm trying to do and MAC address filtering? And what do you mean about "don't broadcast the SSIS of your network."

    Sorry if these are stupid questions, but i don't know anything about networking.

    THANKS For all your help.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    WEP/WPA encrypt your network traffic, though the former does a ***** job of it.

    The SSID is the wireless network's broadcast name. What he means is don't broadcast it. So people can't see the name of the wireless access point unless they are looking for it. You actually have to know the name of the wireless network to join it. Or be skilled. It keeps out all the suckers (n00bs).

    Added to that is MAC address filtering. Meaning, if one doesn't have a MAC address in the wireless filter list, then one cannot connect to the wireless network. This will keep out pretty much anyone from your wireless network.
     
  5. skoker macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #5
    The number one rule with dealing with Belkin products is:

    DON'T!

    I've had them blow out the PC card slot on one laptop, blow up my laser printer, laptop and explode a light bulb another time, and a third time the lady who I used to babysit for scorched her flood when her G router overheated and burned the 2-month-old hardwood.
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Wow.. while I've never had a Belkin product try and hold me down and do dirty things to me, I have to agree that in my world Belkin is synonymous with Cheap Crap.
     
  7. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #7
    LOL

    Ok.

    So... Can anyone tell me how to set my router up to be secured - with this MAC address filtering. So if MAC a.f is set-up does that mean i should disable the WEP?

    Many THANKS
     
  8. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #8
    I've tried the $ first then the wep key - but it still brings up the error message.
    What could be causing the problem?

    THANKS to anyone who can help.
     
  9. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Could be that the signal is weak wherever you're doing this and you need to get a better signal to connect. That's usually my problem when I get that error.
     
  10. dunc85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    #10
    Are there multiple types of WEP to choose from? (Not on Mac right now) I mean, in the airport connect window, you can select the password type, and there are like 3 different types of WEP.
     
  11. Scavenger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #11
    On the Wireless Security drop down box - there are 3 types of WEP; WEP Password, WEP 40/128 Bit HEX and WEP 40/128 Bit Ascii.

    Try each of the last two and type your generated password - one should let you in - i think the Ascii one.
     
  12. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #12
    THANKS TO ALL THE REPLIES

    I've tried all the different WEP Keys and different PassPhrases - there's about a foot between computer and router - so it's nothing to do with the signal.
    Reset the router, and restored it back to factory settings.

    Talked to Belkin and they have no idea what is causing the problem. This is the third Belkin Product from them that hasn't worked -and it's all been about wireless networking.

    SO...
    Can anyone suggest a good make and model number for a Wireless router - which works with PowerBook G4 and two WinXP Desktops, BT Broadband and can carry a signal through one wall. - so far everything has failed.

    THANKS for your suggestions.

    PS: skoker is 100% correct. Don't deal with Belkin
     
  13. Scavenger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #13
    As you can see from my signiture, I have a PowerBook G4. We have had two routers in our house - both as good as each other:

    A Netgear DG834G (around 40£)

    http://www.netgear.co.uk/extra/h_wirelessrouter_dg834g.php

    Didnt have any problems at all with this, we use the more secure WPK security protocol. We networked with Linux (via ethernet) and Windows machines (mine with a wireless card).

    This was given to a friend, and we upgraded to another Netgear router with higher coverage and speed, although i dont actually notice any difference.

    http://www.netgear.co.uk/extra/h_wireless_modem_router_dg834pn.php

    Our adsl-broadband supplier is Pipex and all is fine. Back at my parents house I have thee first router I mentioned and can surf from down the bottom of the garden :)
     
  14. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #14
    Not to thread crap, but ive never had a problem with Belkin *Touch Wood* infact, I wont buy anything else. It tends to be bloody expensive in the UK, and you get a lifetime warranty as well, which is always a plus.
     
  15. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #15
    I had a D-Link 524I that worked very well with both my imac and ibook.

    I know apple routers are expensive, but I find that having an airport express with a mac means almost certain success with connectivity, WEP or WPA.

    In fact, if the airport express didn't have trouble connecting to D-Link, I would've stuck with D-Link. Unlike the a.e., the D-Link could be configued through the web browser, and had far more options tailored to power users for filtering, forwarding, and other rules you may like to set.

    Setting up an apple router with a mac is simple. Just make sure you don't have any wireless 2.4 ghz phones, they will interfere.
     
  16. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #16
    Belkin just phoned.

    Talked me through different set-ups and settings. And still nothing - they said try with a windows computer - so i did. And the WEP security worked. And them said that there was something wrong with Apple computer and hung-up:mad:.

    Any suggestions why my PowerBook doesn't allow me to join the wireless network with WEP Security - it works fine without it, but i'd like to stop my neighbor from accessing it when she comes home from university.

    THANKS
     
  17. mark santangelo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #17
    i was having problems to with my macbookpro

    i now have mine working with the 64bit wep just keep trying all the different wep settings and one will work
     
  18. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Try putting 0x before the WEP key when you enter it on your PowerBook.

    Sean :)
     
  19. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #19
    Ok - I'm Done. Had Enough.

    I've tried all the WEP keys, and the different types. Belkin gave up when it worked with Windows (i don't have windows, but used my dads laptop to see if the problem was with the router - it wasn't) and said "Call Apple"

    Called Apple and they double checked all the wireless settings and they don't understand why my Airport won't join to the network. And said to "Call Belkin."

    Also even without the security - i only bough the Belkin to extend the range of the signal, as my previous only allowed my to walk 12feet from it and then looses the signal. HOWEVER - Belkin Mimo - is doing something the same. the signal is low and there's one wall between us.

    So I'm pretty peeved off right now -

    Will my "local" PC World take the modem back?

    This would be the third product I've returned to my "local" (60 miles away - 120miles round-trip) store and i think they may think i'm upto something.

    Any other suggestions for a wireless modem router - that works with PowerBook G4 and can signal can go through one wall (maybe six feet - through the wall)??

    THANKS
     
  20. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
  21. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #21
    LOL:D i double-checked before i phoned Apple.


    Thought i'd include the basic or basic layouts, and where the problem areas are to see if anyone can suggest a good wireless modem router.

    [​IMG]

    Got to go now... Most Haunted Live awaits in Edinburgh.

    THANKS for all your help/suggestions
     
  22. blaster_boy macrumors 6502

    blaster_boy

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #22
    If your windows laptop can connect to the Belkin via WEP, it means that the router is working and receiving and processing the encryption. Belkin shouldn't have hung up on you, but this does mean that their product is working.

    Really, unless you actually NEED to use WEP, please use a version of WPA, which is much less hackable. I had no problem using WPA-TKIP encryption with my mac, where I just configured my router for WPA-TKIP (not AES!), typed in the password, and then configured my mac to use WPA Personal (which is actually WPA TKIP with a different name), typed in the password again, and it worked just like that.

    In case you need to use WEP, have you tried entering the actual WEP key (not the password, but what it generates, something like 0FABF82D...) in your mac's password field ? Without the $ in front of it. I am not sure if the Belkin router shows you this or not.
    This worked for me when I had configure WEP encryption on my network.

    If you just want to extend the range, you can buy an Airport Express and configure it to accept wireless connections, it can either be a client on your network or work as a WDS node (Wireless Distributed Service), where it is an 'extension' of your current network.
    (this is not something to do if you don't know your SSID from your WPA though...)

    Hope this helps, AleX.
     
  23. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
  24. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    Did you try my suggestion? Enter 0x and then the full WEP key on OS X

    Sean :)
     
  25. HelixOmnimedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelixOmnimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Traveling The World
    #25
    Hi, Yes I did try the 0x you suggested and still nothing.

    Spoke to my neighbor and her network usb adapter is no longer working - she gave it to me to see if it worked on any of my computers - it didn't, so i know she's telling me the truth - and she can't afford a new one right now (skint student). So i know that no one around me can use my network - and no one else has computers.

    BUT...
    What's really bugging me now is the signal. I bought the Belkin Mimo as it was two models up from Belkin G which i had before, but still the same problem with the signal - that's with the laptop and the two desktops.


    Here are the problem areas: -UPDATED- from one above.
    [​IMG]

    All setting have been double checked with Apple (for laptop) and Microsoft (Desktops). There are NO cordless telephones in the house and there's no microwave ovens.

    Any suggestions why the signal is so low - I can see the router from a window in the "red" room and have my laptop facing it - through the window and still nothing.

    I really appreciate all the help given.
    THANKS
     

Share This Page