TheTVDB.com down

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rbrian, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #1
    TheTVDB.com seems to be the only source for TV meta data - but it's been down for two weeks, even though they say it's been up for ten days. www.downornot.com says it's up, but I still can't get to it! Subler times out, Safari times out, Chrome times out. Everyone says it's up so how come I can't get to it? Is there any alternative?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    thetvdb.com is not down, and has not been down for 2 weeks! I use it almost daily and it works fine.

    If it's down for you then I'd contact your ISP and see if it's a problem with them.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #3
    Thanks for the confirmation, looks like it is just me then.

    My ISP is BT - I could understand them blocking the pirate bay, but that works fine! ;)

    Is there anything in my settings that could be causing a problem? Where should I look?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    Try clearing your browser history and DNS cache, failing that try a different DNS, I use openDNS.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #5
    It works! All I had to do was turn my router off and then back on again, and I didn't even have to spend three hours arguing with someone who can't understand me to get that advice.

    Strange though, how come just this one site didn't work? Could it have been cached somewhere?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    I find the command dscacheutil -flushcache is sometimes useful for fixing issues like this. Sometimes the DNS cache gets stuffed and sites that work everyday are no longer accessible.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    Yep flushing the DNS cache can help with a lot of problems like that, but on under OSX the command is different depending on which version you're running:-

    OSX 10.4 or lower
    Code:
    lookupd -flushcache
    OSX 10.5 or higher
    Code:
    dscacheutil -flushcache
    Any version of Windows
    Code:
    ipconfig /flushdns
     

Share This Page