They Just Work

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Cooknn, May 19, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #1
    I just got a call from the ex - she needed tech support. Here's the conversation.

    Her: I can't get my new digital camera to show up on my PC! I installed all the software and it just won't work - I'm so frustrated!
    Me: Take it into Zack's room (my son) and plug the camera's USB cable into his iMac and watch what happens.
    Her: It works! Why doesn't it work on my PC?!

    LMAO :D Aren't Mac's great?! I bought that iMac for my son to rescue him from the world of PC's. I think I delivered him to the World of Warcraft though :eek:
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,820
    #2
    Good on you, many of us take the world of mac for granted but all it takes is a few hours using a windows PC to remember we are in heaven
     
  3. macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,571
    #3
    So is your wife now considering a switch? At least no she sees the Mac side. ;)
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #4
    That would be my ex-wife :p God knows I give her enough money to afford a new Mac. I doubt if she'll ever buy one though. The box she has now was my old PC before I switched. More than she can use - it's a dual 2.4Ghz Xeon. Here I was thinking I'd be set for a few years with that thing, then Apple marketing got into my brain and convinced me to leave the dark side no matter what the cost :eek:
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I also love the fact most of the drivers needed with any device come with the .1 .2 .3 .4 updates :D
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,265
    #6
    So true, so true. Last night, I was trying to get my brother's Dell to go with our network, as he had been off at college for a year and needed to get reconnected. Anyhoo, I spent about 3 fruitless hours trying to get his computer online...on the Mac, I was online within 3 minutes of power up...:rolleyes:
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Maxiseller

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Little grey, chilly island.
    #7
    It's true.

    We have one Windows PC and three macs in our house. Guess which one can't easily jump on the network? I wouldn't mind, but it's just a Belkin router. Not even an Apple branded product.

    When I got the router, I literally opened up my ibook and it was instantly working. No settings, nothing. I can share printers, files accross my other macs eveything! The PC? Well, two PCI Cards later, and several tech support calls I can get it on the internet. Sharing printers? PAH! :rolleyes:
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    What were the two PCI cards, out of curiousity? Wireless or wired? Anyway, glad it worked out for you in the end.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Balin64

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    In a Mauve Dream
    #9
    Wow. You're a nice guy. If MY ex called me for tech support I would tell her where to shove her digital camera... we did not leave on the best terms.

    But... you have your son to worry about. Good thing you got him a Mac! Now tell him to stop gaming and start reading books! ;)
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    wnameth

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    i have almost the exact situation, my sister comes back from U of Guelph, and the stupid dell still isn't even on our D-link (not mac base station) router, bill gates is a moron, it is a fact of life!
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #11
    I'm lucky - my son's a 4.0. Finishing his freshman year in high school with the second highest gpa out of 600+ students in his class :eek: I don't mind if he games when he wants to. He always gets his school work done first!
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    NYC
    #12

    I wish I was like that, I have a 2.8 GPA and I hardly ever do school work but when I do its almost always and A+, I know I should do better but I'm too lazy. I guess I willl have to try again next year.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,319
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #13
    That sounds like me when I was in school, and look at me now! I DRIVE the school bus!
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    NYC
    #14

    I better start doing better befor I end up like you ;) (joking)
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #15
    Out of interest i assume the numbers your referring to ar SAT scores? What's good and bad in those... always wondered, being british n all... :confused:
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Escape from New England
    #16
    SAT scores are out of 1600 points.
    GPA=grade point average; ie. A=4.0 B=3.0 C=2.0 D=1.0. Usually weighted so a 4 hour class counts more than a 1 hour class.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #17
    I and one of my mates brought a laptop to school. I plugged in the cord and almost instantly a message on my screen said that i was connected to sever something or other and that i was connected to the net. Meanwhile my friend was trying to discover the network.

    Edit- Thought of a second story. When i got adsl my isp provides a installation cd. I spent 3 hours or so struggling with it. I gave up when i realized that i should use internet connect (previously used with dial up). All i needed was to select the right connection method followed my my username and password and i was up on the net in 4min.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,111
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #18
    GPA's are different now. When I went to school (many moons ago) 4.0 was the highest you could get - indictating straight A's. The valdedictorian at my son's school this year had a gpa over 5.0 :cool:
     
  19. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    I guess a lot of schools now have grade point values over 4 for one reason or another...I think sometimes they give you extra points for an honors class or weight an A+ as a 5 instead of a 4? Often when schools do this, they either provide a standard weight average on the 4 point scale or else colleges will make you calculate such a thing anyway, since these systems are not uniform.

    The University of Michigan gave A+'s but only weighted them as higher grade points for grad students. And sadly I got tons of A+'s as an undergrad and none in grad school there! :rolleyes: Speaking of which, there are also other grade point systems that are used here and there. U-M's undergrad system was the standard 4 point scale, but their grad system was on a 9 point scale, with an A+ = 9, A = 8, A- = 7, ..., IIRC.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,332
    #20
    Not anymore... Minus anologies, plus written part... 2400 points, 2100 is now the standard for a great college
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Escape from New England
    #21
    Make me look like an old fart!

    Back in my day, we had SAT's out of 1600 and ACT's out of 34! And we loved it! Uphill both ways in the snow etc...
     
  22. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29,630
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #22
    Back in my day, you had to fill in the little bubbles on the multiple choice form with a chisel!!! ;) :eek: :D

    *loves computerized adaptive testing*
     

Share This Page