Things won't install with Installer.app

Discussion in 'macOS' started by janey, May 25, 2006.

  1. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Almost every single package. (the ones that don't show that message are the ones that just hang the installer..)

    Repaired permissions, grabbed installer.app from multiple installer disks and OS X installs, both Intel/universal and PPC, deleted prefs file, checked logs to see if there was anything that coincided with the error, and so on. Don't remember when it started, or why.

    Don't want to reinstall just yet, so if anyone has any pointers or stuff to try, ...that would be awesome.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #3
    try installing it via the command line tool installer so you can see if there is any output. the command to install should be something like `installer -pkg path/to/package.pkg -target /`
     
  4. janey thread starter macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    Hmm that's interesting, didn't know there was a commandline version of the installer. seems to work just fine :D

    Code:
    jane@simulacra:~ $ installer -pkg /Volumes/CHUD/CHUD.pkg/ -target /
    installer: This package requires authentication to install.
    jane@simulacra:~ $ sudo installer -pkg /Volumes/CHUD/CHUD.pkg/ -target /
    Password:
    installer: Package name is CHUD Tools
    installer: Upgrading volume mounted at /.
    installer: The upgrade was successful.
    jane@simulacra:~ $ 
    
    mad jew - dangit, i knew there was something i forgot... :( :eek:
     
  5. chapinmesa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    #5
    Had something like this happen to me before...probably not the same as your problem though. I had to back up some stuff to do a format and re-install. Backed up to the iPod, apparently some sectors of my .zips and .dmgs were not fully copied, ended up having to re-download with only a couple kb missing. Really sucked.
     
  6. janey thread starter macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    nah. some of this stuff i verified the md5 hashes and also i used the same packages to install xcode updates, etc. on other macs...so it's most likely not a download problem.
     

Share This Page