think i could run half life 2 on this thing?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by switchedanhappy, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. switchedanhappy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    ct usa
    #1
    hey guys... I feel really bad about it... but i just want to play half life 2 so badly... I'm breaking down and building a peecee. so I was wondering, how well can I expect to run half life 2 on this machine, and could anyone recommend better parts for the money, or just places to get the parts cheaper? thanks in advance!

    proc~
    athlon 64 3400+ sock 754 218.00$

    mobo~
    MSI K8TNEOFSR Motherboard 60.75$
    (Athlon 64, Socket 754, VIA K8T800/VIA VT8237, ATX, 2GB DDR, 800MHz FSB - SKU: K8TNEOFSR)

    ram~
    KingMax 512MB PC 3200 DDR DIMM 64.25$ (x2)

    hdd~
    Hitachi 80 gb - 13G0252-OEM 50.00$

    video card~
    PowerColor Radeon 9800 Pro EZ Video Card 148.00$

    windows~
    windows xp 50$

    cd/dvd~
    generic 20$

    keyboard/mouse~
    generic <30$

    case~
    LinkWorld 3130M ATX Mid Tower 22$

    I have to shower now. :(
     
  2. TreeHugger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
  3. Devie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Even with a Dual 2.5 with 8GB RAM and 6800 Ultra, you'd wont be able to run it.
     
  4. MikeLaRiviere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    #4
    You'll be able to run it flawlessly. I broke down for Sid Meier's Pirates! (and HL2 to a lesser extent), and built this, attempting to make a relatively cheap system (general specs, I can't remember specifics):

    Athlon 64 939 3000+
    Asus Mobo
    512 MB Crucial RAM
    Radeon 9600 XT 256 MB
    Seagate 160 GB HD

    I have the settings turned way up - highest for everything, 4x AA and AF. The problems I notice are stuttering, but not as a result of CPU or vid card - rather I think 512 isn't enough RAM, because it seems to be paging the HD and not actually decreasing framerate - and long load times - again a result of 512 RAM I believe. CS: Source is amazing, I have the settings turned up in that as well (highest, 4x AA and AF). This is DX9 of course, and amazing.

    Your specs outweigh mine, and you have double the RAM. Be sure to buy Sid Meier's Pirates! And perhaps play around with linux on that box (just put Fedora Core 3 on mine and got it on the internet). However, I type this from my Mac of course. Good luck!
     
  5. sirius1722 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle-area, WA
    #5
    Those sound like pretty decent specs....

    I have played and beaten HL2 with pretty much the same specs (1.5GB PC2700 RAM, Radeon 9800 pro) only I have an older processor (an Athlon XP 2000+). I get a few hiccups sometimes, mostly due to the bugs they had in HL2 (I heard they fixed most of them), but still plenty playable. The Athlon 64 is a great gaming chip and with the Radeon card I think you'll be pretty content with those parts.

    This your first homebuilt?
     
  6. switchedanhappy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    ct usa
    #6
    yessir. I've tinkered with and replaced parts hundred of times, but never built from the ground up. thanks for the prompt responses. the only thing i worry about is the socket 754 processor. does anyone think it's worth it to make the jump to 939? and is pci express going to be all that important, or will agp carry me for a while?
     
  7. sirius1722 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle-area, WA
    #7
    I think there is a marginal increase in the fps you will get with the 939pin 90nm chips, but are you willing to pay $30-40 more for it?. Check out [Tom's Hardware] for more info and benchmarks on the differences between 754 and 939pin processors. If you do decide to go the 939 route, [here] are some reviews of several 939pin mobos.

    As for the PCI express/AGP debate. AGP isn't going away for a while and I think you're safe for at least another year. If you want to really future proof it, then go PCI Express, but be ready to pay for a mobo and video card that supports it.

    Good luck with the build! I had some trouble at first, but it turned out pretty well. Going to be building my 2nd machine in a couple months here with some updated parts (Athlon64 3200+ 90nm 939pin, MSI K8N Neo Platinum mobo, 1GB Dual channel RAM)
     
  8. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #8
    My Windows game console(what else is a Windows PC good for?) is an AlthonXP 1700+, 384MB RAM, and a 256MB Radeon 9250, and it runs HL2 fine. It can even run Doom 3(although not quite as well.) That's even with the video card being PCI.
     
  9. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #9
    Tehehe. NICE. Should run beautifully. Outta try Doom 3 too. Awesome game, im running it on a Duron 900 with 768 MB of RAM and a Radeon 9600 (Soon to be a Athlon XP 2400+) and I average 20-40 FPS, and this is using a 900 MHZ! Your computer, should run Half Life 2, and any other game you toss at it, smoothly and beautifully.
     
  10. sirius1722 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle-area, WA
    #10
    But to really experience the beauty of HL2 with all the graphics and effects turned up, stick with beefier components :D
     
  11. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    Yea, it'll run just fine. Played it at 1280x1024 on our PC:

    2.6GHz P4 with HT
    512MB PC2700 (2x256)
    nVidia 5600 Ultra AGP 8x

    What other specs ya need? :rolleyes:
     
  12. switchedanhappy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    ct usa
    #12
    thanks guys I'm pretty confident now, but I think Doom 3 would feel more at home on G5. for everything else, there my soon to be built (ugh) peecee.
     
  13. carlos700 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    #13
    Go Socket 939

    Go socket 939. The reason why is when you want to upgrade the processor the fastest socket 754 is the AMD Athlon 64 3700+. AMD has said that all new AMD Athlon 64 Processors are going to be socket 939. Moreover, the socket 939 features a 2000 MT/s system bus whereas the socket 754 features a 1600 MT/s system bus.

    I say go AMD Athlon 64 3500+, Socket 939!
     
  14. ProjektJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
  15. lfielder06 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    #15
    You said something about a place to get the components and i would recomend newegg.com. I have used them before and they are an excellent buisness. Some components you can probably find for cheaper, but newegg is very reputable.
     
  16. T.Rex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #16
    I agree - significantly faster with things like AA and Ansio filtering on. About the same price too.
     
  17. T.Rex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #17
    The main advantage of 939 is that it runs dual channel memory, whereas the 754 is only single channel. Also the price difference now is neglicable and 939 ensures easier upgrades in the future.
     
  18. BoardCertified macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA
    #18
    I have one word for anyone considering building a PC:

    Pricewatch
     
  19. MP2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    #19
    As carlos700 said, go a for a socket 939 motherboard. AMD has said that that is the future socket for the AMD 64. And buying a AMD 64 3500 and using it at stock speeds is a waste. Get 3000 and overclock it to 3500-3600 speeds. Buying a sound card would be a much better investment.

    And a 6600 GT would be a much better investment for a video card as ProjektJ said.
     
  20. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #20
    While Pricewatch has been around for quite a while some of the companies have not. You always need to check the reseller ratings (accept only 90% and above) before you even go to the website. This way you avoid those long-stretched out processes where you try to buy a product and then you notice its out of stock. Shady/dodgey companies will NOT refund your money sometimes, so again, 90% reseller rating or above. I don't care how good the price is, value your credit/checkbook/money.
     
  21. Muskyto3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Location:
    Cali
    #21
    will some one please buy my gaming rig and give it a good home its been sittin on the floor lookin all sad for the past 5 weeks.... :(
     
  22. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #22
    Depends if you got a Winchester core + Samsung TCCD w/ Brainpower PCBs in that rig. If its anything less than that, its not big enough of a jump for me.
     

Share This Page