Thinking of buying a new mac ---- 4, yes, 4 options

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iMacZealot, Feb 10, 2007.

1. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

I'm a film editor, and I bought an iMac G5 in May two years ago, and it's been amazing (2.0 GHz, 17" Superdrive, 512 MB RAM, Tiger), although I'm starting to consider buying a new mac. I have four options -- two that would complement my G5, two that would replace it.

The two that complement it:

MacBook:Before I bought my G5, I was considering an iBook--- not because I need portability, but because of the price. Luckily, my dad convinced me to save a little more for a G5. That summer, my sister needed a new computer, and an iBook was laughable at that point (1.2 GHz, 30 GB hard disk, 256 MB RAM?????), so we bought her a 12" PowerBook. However, the MacBook is much more appealing to me. In retrospect, I couldn't possibly imagine doing FinalCut Express on anything other than a widescreen display, and a 13" widescreen display on the MacBook is very appealing now. Plus, I like its speed. What I do a lot is go to rock venues, film the show, and make a 3-5 minute movie in FCE for their website. The MacBook would complement the G5 in a system where I could bring the MacBook to these shows, begin importing the footage, start editing, put it onto one of my external hard disks, and then finish it at home on the G5. I could also use a MacBook for class. It wouldn't be necessary for class, but it might be nice to have a computer with me.

MacBookPro:I'm also considering one of these, especially becuase I'm very envious of my brother and his 15" PowerBook. I'd use it for the same reasons above, but it's hard to justify the extra $400-500 for a bigger display and slightly faster processor than the MacBook.

Finally, the two that would replace my iMac G5: