Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shamash

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 19, 2008
Portland, Oregon
I'm thinking of getting the $1350 refurb 13" high end MBA to replace my Late 2008 Unibody 2.4Ghz core 2 duo 4gb ram 9600mGT blahblah unibody MBP. (it has Applecare until Jan 6th 2012)

Just wondering how much I can probably get for my MBP, it is in pretty decent condition, there is scratching on the bottom of the shell, and a dent at the SD slot thing on the left. I really want the portability of the MBA, but Apple's recycling program only offered $460 for my computer, and with taxes, I'd still be paying about $1000 to go to the MBA if I did it that way.

Also looking for pros/cons of switching. I used to play WoW but don't really play anymore. I am a full time student.

shamash

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 19, 2008
Portland, Oregon
Another question, is there any comparable pricing to the refurbs that aren't refurbished? It looks like the student discount is only $50 so the $250 discount refurb is pretty great, but I dunno about buying refurbished. I never have before :/

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Another question, is there any comparable pricing to the refurbs that aren't refurbished? It looks like the student discount is only $50 so the $250 discount refurb is pretty great, but I dunno about buying refurbished. I never have before :/

You can see resellers' pricing in here. Most likely refurb is the cheapest option. There is no need to worry though. Apple's refurbs are great quality and have everything that a brand new unit has.

shamash

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 19, 2008
Portland, Oregon
I'm clicking around right now.. what about upgrading refurbs? I'd like to get a refurb but want 4gb ram instead of 2gb. Since I can't switch this out myself, is there a way to have Apple upgrade it?

shamash

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 19, 2008