Thinking of switching to iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by tigermisa, Jun 5, 2005.

  1. tigermisa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #1
    I'm thinking of switching over to Mac from PC, I'm getting really annoyed at all the spyware and adaware my pc gets, and viruses. I've looked at the iMac 20" 2.0ghz in the stores and I really fell in love with the design, but I'd like to know if it will be powerful enough to do what I need it to do.

    I will be using it for flash, dreamweaver, photoshop, light video editing, office type apps, internet, watching dvd's and in the future I will probably get a tv tuner for it so I can watch tv on it as well. The only game I will want to play is The Sims 2.

    Also, how much ram would you recommend? I can afford to go either 1gb ram, or 1.5gb ram, but if there isn't that much difference adding the extra 512mb it could be better to spend the money on something else. Thanks everyone in advance!
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It'll easily cover your needs, I'm using one right now and can tell you they're pretty fast machines IMO. :)

    Go for 1.5GB of RAM if possible. Unlike Windows, OSX will be able to use this much with good results.

    Welcome to the community, you'll love your purchase.
     
  3. sw1tcher macrumors 65816

    sw1tcher

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    Go for it and don't look back. Macs can handle all that and more. Much much more.
     
  4. swy32x macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    #4
    I'm using a Rev B 1.8ghz iMac right now, and I can tell you you'll need more than 512mb RAM to use Fireworks without some lag.
     
  5. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #5
    Now that Apple are supplying the iMacs with a single 512 stick of ram, you have the option to wait and see how it runs without spending extra when you spec the purchase. I have the stock 20" and am doing the exact things you want to; it runs great in general, but I reckon I'll upgrade the ram soon to avoid some lag when working with video and large photoshop files. Ram is so cheap for these things that ordering another 512 from www.crucial.com is a no-brainer.
    BTW - that 20" widescreen is just unbelievable when you're working in photoshop; I'll never go back to a 4:3 format screen.
     
  6. rummer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    #6
    I was in the exact same situation as you until last Friday when finally switched to a 20inch iMac G5. I got it with iSight, EyeTV 200 tuner, and 1GB of RAM. Let me say so far, I have StudioMX, Office, FinalCut HD, and a few other apps installed and is having no problems.
     
  7. cooknwitha macrumors 6502a

    cooknwitha

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Just to confirm what everyone's said, I use a G4 iMac 800MHz 512MB RAM to do exactly what you just listed and it handles it well.

    So, with over twice the power, you'll be flying through it!

    Enjoy the switch!
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    While it probably goes without saying to a PC user, don't buy your RAM from Apple. As mentioned above, the stock 512MB will be more than enough to learn the OS while you wait for your RAM to arrive from Kingston, Crucial, Other World Computing,1-800-4-memory, etc.

    Just be sure to get RAM certified to run on the iMac.
     
  9. Calihafan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    #9
    RAM matters

    512 is moderate, and it functions, but OS X LOVES its RAM. I'd advise 1.5 GB for Dreamweaver, Flash, and Photoshop. I'm working in Photoshop only, basically, though I'd like to learn Flash. Also, I use the Office apps you do, Microsoft Office, I assume. I'm not too into Movie editing (no camera), but this machine is fast enough for you. I have an iMac G5 1.8 ghz, rev. B, so if that works fast at 1 GB, a 2.0 ghz Rev. B with 1.5 GB of RAM would positively scream.

    Calih
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I can run iTunes, Safari, and my messenging programs with some RAM left over at 512 MB. I'm planning on getting another 512 MB though.
     
  11. tigermisa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #11
    Thanks for all your help everyone, all your positive comments have helped me make up my mind and I'll be ordering the iMac this week! It sounds like it will work great for what I need it to do. Now I'm so excited about it I have no idea how I'm going to be patient enough for it to be delivered!
     

Share This Page