Thinking on buying another G5 possibly...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Liquinn, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #1
    Hi, does anyone on here have two PowerMac G5s? Can those people share their experiences on their PowerMac G5s are running etc?

    I'm thinking on buying another one; should I get the early 2005 one as I already have the late 2005 one?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    I'm more curious ... why would you want a PowerMac now? Are you simply looking to collect older Apple computers?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #3
    Yeah. I own one Powermac G5 already; may buy another. Thoughts? :D
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    I've got a dead iMac G5, a dead PMG5 and a semi-working PMG5. I should be getting my first fully working PMG5 soon.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    The original memory sticks in my late 05 G5 recently failed, but it was easy enough to re-upgrade. Every Apple/Mac I have from all the way back to 87 still runs as it was designed, especially the G5. It is a bit loud sometimes under load, especially compared to my Mac Pro, but it's really a monster that was way ahead of its time.

    They're a bit power hungry, so you might want to consider that if you plan to run your G5s 24/7. I do run my G5 24/7, headless, and it consumes roughly 180W-230W at any given time depending on how many AppleTVs or time machine backups are running to it. It handles everything I can throw at it.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #6
    Yeah I see, I won't be running it 24/7. Do you know if you have to have a Internet connection to VNC to a G5 from another Mac internally? Like, I want to VNC from a G5 from my Macbook Pro; will the G5 need the Internet for this to be done? So perhaps then I can VNC to one G5 and use one physically...
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I have to run mine 24/7 otherwise it may not turn back on!
     
  8. macrumors regular

    KingKen1986

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    #8
    Obviously you don't have a PowerMac G5.....or you would understand.:D:apple::D
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Aslong as both are on the same LAN there should be no issue with VNC (it's really just peer-2-peer) any data going in/out the internet would just suggest that either your VNC-client or server is malware-infested :p
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Because a G4+ mac beats the crap out of Pentium 4's which plenty of people still use. So there still perfectly usable today.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #11
    True that :p I guess there's going to have to come a point when I'm happy with what I have.
     

Share This Page