This a Problem?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by peterj1967, Sep 13, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    #1
    Was just doing some upkeep on my machine and when running Disk Utilities I ran into a few errors. Must a ran it 10 times and I can't get them repaired. Is it worth going to something like Disk Warrior or Norton to get them fixed? Or any suggestions.

    I attached the screen capture of the text
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #2
    I'd run Disk Warrior if you're concerned. It certainly couldn't hurt. Avoid Norton. Too many reports of nuked drives to take a chance.

    Dan
     
  3. macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #3
    forgive the stupid question, but have you repaired permissions? if it's trying to alter a file it cannot, it won't ever fix the problem... but i'm guessing you have, since you're in disk utilities...

    a more advanced program might not hurt, the only disk problem that a utility cannot fix would be hardware-- which a more advanced utility should know how to work around. so i would expect something like diskdoctor or diskwarrior would fix it...

    i'm going to get flamed for recommending a norton product for OS X :rolleyes:

    pnw
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    #4
    yup

    Not a stupid question, but yes I repaired permissions prior to trying disk repair.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Rezet

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, United States of America
    #5
    Norton is an excellent program. I think symantec is by far the leader in all utility programs for pc and mac.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    #6
    Not Quite

    Went with Disk warrior, finds the problems, but craps out with an error just as it's finishing. I'll post it later. Ran it a few times to see if it would take care of it, but I seem to have overlapped files it can't fix...
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #7
    It's possible (although unlikely) that bad RAM may be to blame. Try removing all the RAM that didn't come with your machine. I doubt it'll be the solution, but I've heard crazier things that work.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #8
    depending on your situation, it may just be time for a good old fashioned reformat. I have the luxury of a large external drive to back all my stuff to but I know many do not so try and find a friend that can lend you some hard drive space if you need. A few CD-RW's could do the trick too.

    Reformatting will most likely fix any non-hardware issues with the hard drive and divert around bad sectors if there are any. I recommend reformatting at least once a year for my PC friends and as necessary for macs (could be a year, could be 10, depends on use).
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #9
    PS: a good way to transfer to another computer's drives is using target disk mode which turns a mac into a firewire hard drive. Just start one up holding the T key and once you see the firewire symbol on screen plug it in via the firewire port into the second computer and transfer away!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
  11. macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #11
    Miller-

    Please use the edit function next time. K thx.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    #12
    I do have an external I can use for backing things up. Part of cleaning up all the files and such was to get ready to set up a system to have a backup system.

    I was hoping to put off a reformat until Panther shows up.

    Anyway, here's the story of my problem....

    Once a month or maybe a little more often my dp 1.25 Kernel Panics when waking from sleep. It's just enough to really bug me, tried everything, reformat reinstall was a starting point, remove USB devices and drives. I only have a Canon s820 and Epson 1260. didn't fix it. I have a Lacie 80 Gig D2 Fire Wire Drive (my back up drive it also has a bootable system on it) and a Lacie CD Burner. All the devices and drives are pretty current, so I don't think they're the issue. I have spoke with apple and have taken the box to my local Apple fix-it shop, but I can't reproduce the issue and neither could they.

    I've ran the Apple Hardware tool for 24 hrs in loop mode with no errors, I have reset the PMU and Zapped the pram, but the once and a while kernel Panics won't go away

    Anyhow, the kernel panic is usually followed some other hiccups, so a repair permissions and disk repair usually take care of that. This time, however I have the two cross-linked files. I figured I would move them and run it again, but I can't open the files. The folder they are in has a little red circle with a line through it in the corner, and in the get info window, the owner is system. Can't you do something like log-in as root to get to that stuff????

    The files are located Private/Var/Spool/cups/tmp/[File name is about 16 digits of letters and numbers]

    I don't know *nix, so I don't know what they are and I can't get to them through the finder, to move or delete them. They seem, by the path name, to be temp files.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    #13
    I attached the error I get from Disk Warrior
     

    Attached Files:

  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, CA (Prescott, AZ for school)
    #14
    Oh boy that sounds bad. It could be that there was a problem back when the OS was intalled and that's what's causing the strange bugs. Anyway, I'd reformat and see what happens, if it still has problems I'd say its a hardware issue.
     

Share This Page