"This application requires you type your password."

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by quinny61994, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Near My Computer
    #1
    I need my AppleScript Studio application to retrieve a user's password because the AppleScripts I am running require user authentication from the terminal. Any ideas? I'd like to get that pull-down dialog in apps like OnyX and TechTool Deluxe. Anyone know what I mean, at least?
     
  2. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Look into Keychain access. The Keychain is an awesome Apple utility that stores passwords, and you have them automatically assigned to your app. Also you can turn on a special Keychain menu by accessing Keychain Access in Applications->Utilities.

    TEG
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Near My Computer
    #3
    Any idea how I would go about doing that?
     
  4. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,542
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    No. But I suspect that either someone else here would or on the ADC forums. I'd also think that something may also be included with XCode Help.

    TEG
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Near My Computer
    #5
    There really aren't any ADC forums, that's why I turned here. Thanks TEG, I'll try a mailing list or something.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,018
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #6
    The Apple mailing lists are often very helpful. There is one called applescript-users that is probably relevant.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,988
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7

Share This Page