This device is not registered as part...

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by rrwrrw, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #1
    I keep trying to activate my iPhone 4s on iOS 6 and keep getting the message "We're unable to complete your activation. This device is not registered as part of the iPhone Developer Program." I added the Device ID to the provisioning portal, but it isn't working.

    Does this mean the server is down or that I have done something wrong when adding the Device ID?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #3
    So, is it probably the activation server then?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
  5. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #6
    Yep. I was just wondering if this is the message that you get when the activation server is not working.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #8
    Come on guys. Can someone please take two seconds and help?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    SoldOutMatinee

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #9
    if you did everything right, i wouldn't panic until a few more hours pass bc it seems that the servers are not responding for some right now. I activated my phone earlier today and it went smoothly. I've now tried doing someone else's and it's saying it's not registering so i'm assuming it's a server issue.
     
  10. Haugum, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    #10
    Same thing happened to me, didn't work for hours. Then I put my iPhone into DFU, connected it to iTunes and restored to 5.1.1. When my iPhone was running 5.1.1, I connected it to iTunes and updated (NOT restored) to 6.0 by alt-clicking the update button and choosing my .ipsw file.

    TL;DR
    1. Enter DFU
    2. Restore to 5.1.1 in iTunes
    3. Alt-click update (not restore!) and choose your .ipsw (For Windows: Shift-click update).
    4. Profit.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #11
    Was that the exact error message you were getting as well?
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #12
    Getting the same error. I restored straight from iOs5.0 to 6
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #13
    This works great! However for windows users its SHIFT and click UPDATE.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Thank you!!! I assumed the servers were getting hammered and I would just have to wait it out... I am trying as soon as I get home! Thanks again!
     

Share This Page