This is what I think I will get:

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by trainguy77, Oct 2, 2006.

1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

I am thinking this config:

2.66 ghz
    1 gb of ram
    x1900xt
    airport bluetooth
    160 gb drive

everything else standard. I also need a monitor it does not need to be anything really big so i was thinking: http://www.samsung.com/Products/Monitor/LCD_Digital/LS19MEPSFVXAA.asp However I don't really like there dead pixel policy, but is it better or worse then other manufacturers? I am new to the LCD thing.

Any thoughts on the system?

2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

I personally would look for a widescreen monitor. I have a 19" regular LCD, and wish I had a widescreen for movies and such.

Other than that, the system looks good (Mac Pro, I presume?). You might want to add third-party RAM down the line, I know I was glad I did, but I'm running a Core Solo, and not a Dual-Xeon. So ya know.

3. Mundy macrumors regular

Seems like a good configuration to me. Of course, that's the configuration I just ordered, so I'm a bit biased. :D

I've also purchased 4 gigabytes of RAM from OWC, since it would be a crime to use this system with only 1 gigabyte. I'm getting a couple of Western Digital RE2 500 gigabyte hard drives as well.

I wrestled a lot over what monitor to get for my Mac Pro. I wanted an Apple Cinema Display, but just couldn't justify the price difference. I've ordered two Dell 2007WFP displays ($359 each right now—same panel as Apple's 20" Cinema Display), and while I don't expect to be thrilled with them, they should get the job done.

I like Samsung monitors as well. That would have been my second choice.

4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

I agree...everything is going widescreen these days. The 4:3 aspect ratio is going the way of the dinosaurs.

5. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007