This may be off topic... but does anyone know about the xbox?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by frescies, Apr 3, 2003.

  1. frescies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    More specifically, can you use the built in ethernet port to play multiplayer games over the internet (namely HALO)? Or can you only play games over a LAN?
     
  2. mkubal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa
    #2
    I'm fairly sure it has to be over a LAN for HALO.

    Matt
     
  3. markjones05 macrumors 6502a

    markjones05

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #3
    Yes its called xbox live. you cant play halo over the internet but halo 2 will be able to. games you can play on xbox live are things like ghost recon, unreal championship, mech assault, and pretty much any easports game as of 2003.
     
  4. beez7777 macrumors 6502a

    beez7777

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Location:
    Notre Dame
    #4
    you can play halo online using a thing called xbconnect. i havent used it ina while, but it worked pretty well with halo and a few others. do a google search, it should come up.
     
  5. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    i have xbox, and i cannot tear myself away from ghost recon online... best game i have EVER played. TRY IT :D
     
  6. boardbuff2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #6
    connect to a computer

    You can play Halo online! All you need to do it connect it to a computer through an ethernet cable. sad news is, that you need to have a pc to do it. a mac wont work. you also need to download a piece of software to do it. the software is free so its all good. here is a link to the info:
    http://xsnakex82halo.tripod.com/Halo/id2.html

    ok i was wrong there is a mac version of the software. check it out and post back here to let us know if it works!
     
  7. frescies thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    What about VPC....

    can you hook it up to a mac with VPC?
     
  8. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    VPC emulates a pentium II processor... it would be WAY too slow
     
  9. boardbuff2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #9
  10. steeleclipse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    this is just a shot in the dark... is there an xbox emulator for os x???
     
  11. VegetaPunk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    AZ
    #11
    You dont need a pc emulator and you can do it with a mac!! its a program called aquaduct its for OS X and you need to find a list of people using it on game ranger... thats what I did it works Great!!;) :D :cool:
     
  12. VegetaPunk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    AZ
    #12

Share This Page