Those annoying "Clicks". Live loop recording.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sedacc9, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. sedacc9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    #1
    They tell me its possible to get rid of them, however I've tryed just about everything I can think of and still they persist. I'm using a strat. And even when I can adjust the loop to sound good, that dam "click" takes all the fun out of it.
    Post Script: When you loop does the playhead go all the way to the end of the loop or does it jump back short?
     
  2. Whigga Spitta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Location:
    Can you say Chi-City??
    #2
    it's the metronome (if i understand you correctly)
    "command U" will turn it off
     
  3. sedacc9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    #3
    Thanks for the try, but strike one. I should have probably gave a bit more info, but I was a little bit pissed at the time that I couldn't do what I wanted. We've all been there. I can make the loop fine, but when I play it back - with the metronome off - after I've stretched it out over several bars; there is still an audible "click" as the playhead rolls over the connection point. Perhaps its my editing ability, but I've tryed several times to be rid of it and I can reduce it but not eliminate it. I'll keep trying.
     
  4. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #4
    What are you recording? Is it possible that the click sound is recording along with your source? You might want to monitor with headphones while recording, if this is the case.

    Or go up to Garage Band --> Preferences and choose "Metronome: During Recording" only.

    Lee Tom
     
  5. sedacc9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    #5
    Wrap up

    Thank you all for trying, but I'm pretty sure that I managed to solve this one on my own. It seems the cuts I was making were too big. Once I read about using "Transpose" to lengthen out my loop I was able to make a much finer cut and all but eliminate the "click". It also had a lot to do with my timing. Something which for me is still, it would appear - to be a work in progress.
    Thanks again.
    Sedacc9
     
  6. sonofsam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Location:
    Torrance, CA USA
    #6
    sedacc9, can you explain how you fixed the problem in more detail? I didn't quite understand that. I am a little slow... :)

    I have been attempting to do my own edits of aif files and I am having the same "click" problem. I am basically making my own loops of guitar parts I have recorded previously on another recorder. I started out making my loop edits in Peak and they sounded perfect. I would then drop it into GB and I would hear the clicks at the joined points. I tried every little tweak I could think of with no luck. Some of the segments where long but most of them were very short (3-4 bars).

    What am I doing wrong? I don't really want to record all of these guitar parts again. This is not a metronome problem BTW.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Klopsi69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    #7
    if i understand right, this click happens when the clip hits the bit where it loops?

    What it probably is, <and if it's not don't bite my head my off, only trying to help with what little knowledge i have...> :)

    Is that when the clip starts and ends the volume of the wave is not zero, or not perfectly aligned with the volume at the start of the loop.

    On cakewalk to fix this, I would have selected the last sub-millisecond of the clip and made the volume fade out to zero %. At the start of the clip i would have selected the first millisecond and made the volume fade in to 100% from zero.

    I don't know how you would do this in garageband though.

    Hope this helps, <though i doubt it...>
    Phil
     
  8. johnnowak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #8
    Both ends of your loop most be at the same point, ideally at the zero crossing. Otherwise, the loop jumps in amplitude when it cycles, and you get the click. Small fades at both ends (they need only be very small) will take care of this.
     
  9. Klopsi69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    #9
    see, that's how to say what i meant, but way better :rolleyes: :)
     
  10. fingers macrumors regular

    fingers

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #10
    You could try Apples Soundtrack Loop Utility - which is available from their developer site. You can then create your own apple loops - which are more flexible than regular aiff files.

    Otherwise - use an audio editor to fade the start and end points as someone else has suggested. Then drop them into your GarageBand song.
     
  11. sonofsam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Location:
    Torrance, CA USA
    #11
    Thanks a lot for the advice guys. I will try what you guys said. I pretty sure they are close to the same volume but maybe not. I may have been a bit sloppy with the edits too.

    Thank you,
    Phil
     
  12. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #12
    BINGO!!!!

    Welcome to the world of the loops and sound editing!

    That is right, you have to match both points, perferibly the relaxaction point.

    For those who are not familiar with what a "waveform" is... that is just the way the diafragma of the speakers move (or vibrate). If you do not fix the pick you are creating a very hard change in voltage and that is the click you are listening to.

    Some softwares are good to manage that but is good to fix it by hand.
     

Share This Page