those ugly clamshells

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by lorenzo, Apr 15, 2005.

1. lorenzo macrumors member

does anyone else cringe when they see those old apple clamshells? ahh, and to think... a few years back they seemed like the coolest.

2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

Manzana

ahh...no!

i work in a lab and a temp employee busted out with a lime one and he was there working it on the bench. it was so cool that he was still using it!

btw i do cringe when i see pismo's and wallstreets!

*ducks*

3. Mr. Durden macrumors 6502a

Heck no. I had a blue one and wish I still did. They do look dated now, but dated in a cool way. Dont get me wrong, I wouldnt buy a clamshell one over a new one, but would still grab one if the price was right.

4. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

Lord Blackadder

I've never seen an Apple portable that didn't look good. Heck, I still think my Powerbook 180c looks cool. Tha clamshells are built like tanks - the graphite ones are the best looking too.

The only reason that the multiple-colored computer is out of style is that countless inferior imitations have been flloding the market for years now. Everything that plugs in anymore comes with swappable colored plastic "inserts". Way to beat a once-cool idea into the ground, people. :rolleyes:

5. brap macrumors 68000

I want my graphite monster back. Best form factor ever... *slaps newbie* :eek: :rolleyes: :eek:

6. iLaw macrumors newbie

If I had more money than sense I would start collecting all the colours for no reason, shame I have the opposite.

7. Mr. Durden macrumors 6502a

Actually, I mis-spoke in my previous post. It was a grphite one that I had. Beautiful. I remember seeing the green ones and thinking the were ugly as sin, but then after I had the graphite one for a while, I started thinking how much more of a statement the green one made. "Hey look at me, I'm cool." I guess that could be good or bad...

8. iGary Guest

iGary

I'm looking for one for my collection.