Thunderbolt 2.5" HD (SSD) Enclosure for new iMac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by shenan1982, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #1
    So I'm upgrading my 27" 2010 to my new 27" 2012 with Fusion. I want to get a Thunderbolt external hard drive enclosure to remove the 512gb SSD from my OLD computer to attach to my new computer.

    I'm having a heck of a time finding a thunderbolt enclosure, let alone one that's reasonable cost. I am looking on Amazon and only see one by JBird, and it's $300 just for an enclosure (vs $30 for USB 3)

    My understanding is if booting off the drive, Thunderbolt is the way to go. Is this accurate? Suggestions as to an enclosure?

    Thanks!
     
  2. rkaufmann87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    You may also want to check with OWC (www.macsales.com) to see what they have available.
     
  3. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    Thanks, I did check there. I see lots of hard drives with Thunderbolt, but not seeing any enclosures only. I already have the SSD 512 to put inside it, I just need the enclosure.
     
  4. ybz90
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #4
    There's a Seagate adapter that's around $100, but it leaves the drive entirely exposed (though I'm not sure if that's an issue, honestly). TB peripherals are still extremely expensive unfortunately.
     
  5. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #5
    I can't believe they don't make a basic enclosure. It it the demand is low vs USB 3? Do you know if there is any advantage to TB vs USB3?

    If anyone knows of a small enclosure please let me know.
     
  6. Tanax
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #6
    You don't need TB. Get a USB3 enclosure, it will be more than enough for a single SSD.
     
  7. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #7
    OK, will use one of my USB 3 enclosures for now. Does USB3 run fast enough to support the speeds of SSD?
     
  8. richphoto
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #8
    Yes , plus depends if you have sata3 or a slower model ssd, if its older probably slower and usb 3 is plenty fast for it

     
  9. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    It's only 3 months old, either way, good to know USB 3 will suffice. Thanks!
     
  10. g4cube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #10
    LaCie Rugged Thunderbolt/USB enclosure, $199

    Comes complete with Thunderbolt cable, USB 3.0 cable, and a free 120GB Micron SSD.

    :)
     
  11. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #11
    Link?
     
  12. g4cube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
  13. Arman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #13
    Read up on the LaCie drive. You can take it apart and switch ur 512 in for the stock SSD but look for the thunderbolt version
     
  14. bonedaddio
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #14
    There's a ton of information in this thread, Black Magic Disk Test Thunderbolt Adapter comparisons... including some real-world testing and informed opinion, if that's what you're after.
    Good Luck,
    Les
     
  15. thekev
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #15
    It doesn't matter. 3Gb/s SATA ssds are still sold today. They were sold 3 months ago as well. They currently coexist with the 6G variants.
     
  16. tom vilsack
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #16
  17. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #17
    I suppose USB 3.0 it is. I don't think ThunderBolt is worth it for a 1000% price premium, hehe.
     
  18. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #18
    Do you know how difficult it is to take apart? I have ordered a Buffalo Mini Thunderbolt Drive I was planning on prying open. Do you know if the Lacie rugged is any easier to get into to replace the drive? If it is, I can cancel my Buffalo order and go Lacie....
     
  19. MotherFinMike
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    MotherFinMike

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego California
    #19
    He needs one with a external power supply if he's gonna use a 512gb since the drives power requirements won't support lacie or buffalo with drives bigger than 256gb, his best bet is the go flex desktop version
     
  20. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #20
    That flex desktop version is huge.
     
  21. g4cube
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #21
    The LaCie is easy to take apart; the Buffalo is difficult due to a glued case design.

    In either case, you'll be limited to max size of 256GB, unless you find a low power larger SSD. Pay close attention to the max power consumed for the mechanism.
     
  22. shenan1982
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #22
    Well with this knowledge now I have to return the Buffalo, and the Lacie won't work. I guess I'm stuck with a USB 3.0 drive... :-( Really wanted to be able to thunderbolt my 512GB ssd, but it seems the only way to do so at this point is a big ol desktop drive.
     
  23. Tanax
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #23
    USB3 should only be illadvised for those who are really pushing their CPU. USB3 has a slightly higher CPU requirement so if you're stressing your CPU, USB3 will disconnect and your computer will shut down(due to no boot-drive connected).

    For me though who are not using CPU-intensive applications, it should be perfectly safe to boot from USB3.
     
  24. Fishrrman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #24
    "My understanding is if booting off the drive, Thunderbolt is the way to go. Is this accurate? Suggestions as to an enclosure?"

    I think you ought to include the latest, fastest USB3 enclosures in your considerations.

    They may not offer the "pressing the edge of the envelope" speed that Thunderbolt provides, but the right ones are still VERY fast. In all likelihood, you probably won't notice the difference in day-to-day usage.

    Even recent USB3/SATA docking stations are right up there in speed.

    Check these:
    http://www.barefeats.com/hard161.html

    http://fortysomethinggeek.blogspot.com/2012/10/blacx-5g-usb-30-update-fastest-usb-30.html
     
  25. hfg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #25
    I have a Crucial M4 512GB on a Seagate GoFlex Thunderbolt adapter. On eBay I found some new GoFLex "disk enclosures" (the plug-on shell) which hold any 2.5" SATA drive and make for a cleaner appearance with my SSD inside.

    You could also buy a hard disk GoFlex Thunderbolt, open the shell and replace the hard disk with your SSD, then sell the HD, use it in another laptop, or put it in a cheap USB-3 case and use it for backup (a single hard disk on Thunderbolt is sort of a waste anyway).

    My 512GB SSD on the GoFlex seems to be working fine!

    NOTE: This arrangement works great for installing/booting Windows externally as well.


    -howard
     

Share This Page