tibook rugged?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Choppaface, Apr 30, 2002.

1. Choppaface macrumors 65816

I'm thinking of possibly looking at a new tibook, but it seems so fragile. my dad has a 500mhz model and although it seems sturdy enough, it seems so thin that if anything hit it, it might break. right now I have a lombard, which my dad used for about a year or so after I got it last year or so. I beat the crap out of the thing to tell the truth :D....to frase it better though, 'its been loved'... I throw it in and out of my backpack, where it's squished inbetween my books, it along with my backpack gets thrown around during everyday use. its got numerous scratches, a bit of scuffing on the screen from the keyboard, and the springs for the rear door came loose so it kinda hangs there. its batteries (always have two of them in there) have been used so much that I can get about 2 hours out of each of them. I also never shut it down, and I'll often put it to sleep even after the finder crashes yet it holds up enough for me to later edit dozens of photoshop files. and of course, I've lost all four rubber feet.... would the Tibook live up to this sort of treatment, or do you think I'd be a bit too rough on it? my dad has one right now, and the little plastic piece by the open button has already cracked yet he hardly ever packs it in his briefcase. If i got one, I wouldn't really be sensative to it's looks, I can take a few scratches here and there (although it would be nice to have a clear screen), but might this kind of treatment cause more than just cosmetic damage? so far I've never had anything important break on my Lombard, but seeing just how fragile the iBooks are makes me worry about how safe a TiBook might be in my backpack. I've also considdered perhaps a fully loaded Pismo since its got about the same case as my Lombard (right?), but a G4 chip would be *really* convenient

thanks for any feedback :D

2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

Rower_CPU