Tiger and MATLAB

Discussion in 'macOS' started by azdude, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. azdude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    #1
    Hi all. Two questions:

    1) Anyone here running MATLAB 7.0.0.1991 on Tiger?
    2) Which install method did you use? Upgrade? Archive & Install?
     
  2. fuzzy_logic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #2
    I did an upgrade install and Matlab (Version 7.0.0.19901 (R14)) works fine.
     
  3. azdude thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    #3
    FYI, I got impatient.

    MATLAB 7.0.0.19901 (R14) works fine, even with the "Archive & Install" option.
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Ok I'm trying to install MatLab 7.0 R14 on Tiger 10.4.2 , it is the student version and it is saying that I have to have X11 installed on my machine. But I installed X11. Isn't that what the XCode Developer tools are? I installed the XCode packages that were in my Application/Installers folder and figured I was good to go. I installed MatLab but it said it won't open until I install X11. Even though I have the developer folder in my root directory the MatLab program won't open. Help.
     
  5. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    XCode is not X11.

    X11 is installable from the Tiger installation disk by clicking on "Optional Installs".
     
  6. jmossa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #6
    matlab and X11

    Hi,
    I've installed MATLAB 7.0 and X11. When I click on the MATLAb icon, it opens the X11 application and the MATLAB icon in the dock starts to "jump". But then it stops, MATLAB doesn't opens and X11 keeps open. I don't know what is the problem. I would be very grateful if someone could help me. Thanks anyway. Bye.
     
  7. Ryan1524 macrumors 65816

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #7
    10.4.3, with MATLAB 7.0.0.19901 (R14) opens fine here. :)
     
  8. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    I've had this happen once (today actually) and I just retried opening Matlab and it worked. I'd suggest reinstalling Matlab if reopening it doesn't solve the problem.
     
  9. jmossa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    #9
    thanks

    Thanks for your answer, but I've tried that several times (reinstalling) and it doesn't work. Do you have another idea of which could be the problem? Thanks again.
     
  10. sycoogtit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #10
    I'm having this same problem. I have mac 10.4.8 with X11 installed. When I try to open Matlab, the icon jumps in the dock for a minute and then goes away. Matlab never opens. I've tried reinstalling Matlab, restarting the computer, etc etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     

Share This Page