Tiger as Primary OS

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Motha-Canuker, Oct 12, 2004.

1. Motha-Canuker macrumors newbie

just wondering who is running Tiger as there primary OS...and what problems they've run into

just a curiosity question...im not a developer...i dont have a copy of tiger.....unless one of yall are willing to gimme your copy :p

2. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

Well, I'm not. But, I tried it for about two weeks. Seeing that you can't play iTMS music, iDisk syncing doesn't work properly (I wish they would update our developer copies, seeing that I want to play with the new .Mac features...) and a few other issues (I would have to re-install a few apps to get them working correctly), I didn't find it worth it as a main OS. Others may, but it's just way too buggy to use first. Although I do boot into it a lot to do app testing.
    –Chase

3. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

The technician at our store has the WWDC preview of Tiger running on his TiBook, and the only complaint he has is that Toast sometimes can't unmount certain media. A rather minor problem, really. For all of his purposes (how many people actually use iDisk?), it works just fine.

4. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

Freg3000

A few hundred thousand people have .Mac, of which iDisk is a very large component. A great deal of people use the iDisk.

I wish people would stop minimizing the importance or impact of .Mac. Just because most people here have cheaper alternatives doesn't mean it isn't a valuable service to thousands of others.

5. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

Oh certainly, many people use .Mac, but what's the percentage? I wouldn't be willing to guess it to be any more than 10%, and that's being very liberal. Why should I pay $99 a year for a half ass antivirus, and 250MB of storage space when I can get myself 1GB of space at a number of free sites? I've never found it to be a valuable service so much as just a service.

6. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

Duff-Man