Tiger Does Not Recognize Amount Of Ram

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dailydoseofjosh, Jul 18, 2005.

  1. dailydoseofjosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    #1
    Question,

    I have an eMac 1Ghz - and two 512 sticks of RAM in it. (Just bought a new 512 stick to bump it up before school starts.) My computer recognizes only 768 mb though. I thought that maybe one of the sticks was loose or something, so i switched the slots they were in and it still registered at 768. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Need to know what kind of RAM you put in it. If you are 100% sure of the compatibility with the eMac, then you are probably lookin at some bum RAM.
     
  3. dailydoseofjosh thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    #3
    it was simpletech ram, bought it on amazon.com
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    That's a classic case of a RAM module built with high density chips that is incompatible with the Mac. The RAM you bought probably has 8 physical chips on it. The eMac requires one with 16 physical chips of a lower density. The 8 chips are high density on yours, and the eMac can only read the first half of each chip, so only recognizes 256 of the 512 on the module.

    The RAM module is probably perfectly good, but it just aint a Mac-compatible one. Next time, purchase from a reputable vendor who tests and guarantees compatibility with your model Mac, and offers a no-charge return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
     
  6. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #6
    if this is a fact, then i have been lucky 100% of the time, i buy ram. e.g. i need a pc3200 ram. i buy that and up to this point, i never go wrong.
     
  7. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #7
    Yeah thats a new one on me too. But I don't know of any other explanation. I think Trevor from canadaRAM may have just educated us.
     

Share This Page