Tiger GUI

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dr. No, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. Dr. No macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    #1
    This article at AnAndTech states that Tiger will have better GUI acceleration, and UI elements will be GPU rendered instead of CPU rendered (MUCH greater speed for AGP users)

    http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=2313&p=4


    Is this true? And how is it coming along in Tiger betas? No one else seems to have mentioned this.
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    It's true. It's the whole CoreImage thing, mostly. Better visual effects, and less cpu cycles being used... It's not really anything earth-shaking though (As far as the GUI is concerned).
     
  3. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #3
    I agree, but anything that helps make thing faster is always good even though it is not much ;) :p
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    Will this mean GPUs run hotter? My PowerBook's GPU runs fairly hot as-is (55 degrees Celsius currently) and it can spike up to 64 degrees Celsius.

    Will it get hotter because it is doing more work?
     
  5. MacSA macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Damn.......another reason why Apple needs to put decent video cards in ALL of their Macs.
     
  6. jane doe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #6
    Panther already does this, Tiger will do more of it.
     
  7. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    I hope Apple finally gets the picture and either allows for different graphics cards in their computers other than the Power Mac, or doesn't use the NVIDIA 5200 in everything.....
     
  8. jane doe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #8

    Apple doesn't stop "other" graphics cards from being installed, its up to the card maker to make a card for the mac.
     
  9. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Ok, so tell me when you want to upgrade my iMac G5's graphics card or my Mom's eMac. I'll pay any price.

    Apple does stop other graphic cards from being installed since they solder the cards onto the motherboard. It's not that i don't understand why they do this (they have to engineer the motherboard so that it mets certain unique dimensions-like the iMac) but it is nevertheless frustrating.
     
  10. jane doe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #10
    You hit the point, Apple designs the logic boards for certain machines. These are also lower-end, consumer computers. You can swap out the graphics card anytime you want in a G4 or G5 tower. You can also do this in the Xserve to some degree.

    Its up to the card makers, to WANT to make a card.
     

Share This Page