Tiger install, About Mac window

Discussion in 'macOS' started by huy, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. huy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #1
    I was wondering:

    Does anybody know how I can remove:
    "Startup disk: Macintosh HD" from my About Mac window? It's really annoying me because I normally don't have it. This is the first time I've seen it.

    Does anybody know?
     
  2. john1123 macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #2
    wow how often do you look at your mac's about this mac window?!?
     
  3. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #3
    I am not sure exactly what you mean, but have you tried system preferences<startvolume. This is where you can change what drive your computer starts from.

    What does your 'About this Mac' windows look like... attached is mine.

    Have fun
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    I've seen that on a couple of screenshots, but mine doesn't have it, and has never had it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    Is this the difference between the 'boxed' and downloaded versions? ;)
     
  8. huy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #8
    I don't look at the About Mac window all the time, but it is not the same as everyone else's. I managed to remove it before (not through editing any files or system files etc) but simply disappeared somehow. Now it is back.

    Yes, I have changed the Startup Disk and have 1 thing listed but it still appears in the About Mac window. My About Mac window looks normal, but with 1 extra line,

    For example:
    Processor: 1.5GHz PowerPC G4
    Memory: 512MB DDR SDRAM
    Startup Disk: Macintosh HD


    I did not have that listed before, but now I do. I have reinstalled a few times and have restarted many times, even holding down option (alt) to change the startup disk to the same Macintosh HD, but it is still the same in About Mac.
     
  9. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #9
    The question looks to be, do you have or multiple disks/partitions on your computer when you get the Startup Disk listed in the About This Mac box? And does more than one have a bootable copy of OS X on it?
     
  10. vouder17 macrumors 6502a

    vouder17

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Home
    #10
    i think if you have two partitions...then it will show on which one the start-up disk is on...My guess
     
  11. huy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #11
    It's a PowerBook, with one internal hard disk (one disk, one volume). I only have one single copy of OS X (bootable OS) on my machine. There is nothing else installed, I do not have two hard disks or volumes/partitions. It's all singles.

    I did, however, install OS X from an external HD and had to boot off that in order to install, but I don't think it matters now because that external HD isn't plugged in and I am booting off the single volume, internal PowerBook HD, called Macintosh HD.

    Now that is weird! :eek:
     
  12. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    Mine has it :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    Hmmm....interesting. :eek: ;) :D

    my 10.3.9 doesn't have it, not that anyone else's seems to either. I'm still interested to know who goes to this window enough to care! It's not like a bad permission that can cause system performance or lock-up...it's just an additional piece of information. Now I guess, if it said, "Startup Disk: HaXX0Rz WaReZ," I'd be concerned too. :D
     
  14. rock6079 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #14
    This is a NEW feature in Tiger....


    About This Mac
    View the name of the startup disk in the enhanced About This Mac menu — great if you have multi-drive setups.

    check out the Tiger feature overview
    under the "System" heading on that page
    its one of the new "200" features in tiger...

    anyway i dont see why someone would not want it there ?
     

Share This Page