Tiger killed my wireless range

Discussion in 'macOS' started by stoid, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #1
    Before updating to Tiger I was always getting 3 or 4 bars in the menu icon. Now I'm getting 2 and sometimes only 1. What happened? Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. KyleC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  3. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #3
    Actually I've noticed the opposite, here where I have low reception of the university network, it frequently switches from 4 bars to 1. Before it never had more than one bar.
     
  4. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #4
    I would assume this is the issue at hand. I don't see why it would actually increase/decrease anything as its just software...
     
  5. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    Good answer. :)
     
  6. sorryiwasdreami macrumors 6502a

    sorryiwasdreami

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    way out in the sticks
    #6
    Mine is mediocre at best right now. If Tiger blows it, I probably won't be able to even connect to Google.

    I think the poster who said that it's more accurate is probably on the right track. Have you tried moving closer to the hot spot to see if it changes?
     
  7. stoid thread starter macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #7
    I'm practically right on top of the Airport Base Station as it is. It's not 8 feet from my laptop, on the otherside of a paper thin interior wall of my apartment. My roommate's PC laptop gets almost perfect signal and he's on the other side of the room further from the base station.
     
  8. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I have this problem at work - I'm using Panther.. I'm 2 meters away from the base station... yet i get 1 or zero bars... I didn't always be like this.

    Someone else, sitting not too far from me is getting fine reception.
     
  9. swissmann macrumors 6502a

    swissmann

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    The Utah Alps
    #9
    My buddy says his range has about doubled. He can now surf in places he didn't have any reception before on campus.
     
  10. 0s and 1s macrumors 6502a

    0s and 1s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Location:
    OK, USA
    #10
    That's strange...Tiger just upped my airport strength and firefox even seems faster.
     
  11. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #11
    I used CNET and oddly enough, my speeds are 1.5-2x my speeds before. And I'm very sure my university didn't suddenly upgrade their wireless at the same time.

    Interesting, I didn't think software could improve upon the hardware ... weird.
     
  12. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #12
    I'm using airport with my iMac, and I usually get about 50kb/sec down. Yet on my wired network (going through the same internet connetion), I usually get more like 250kb/sec. I'm convinced it's either Panther or Airport. Even with wireless B, that's still plently of bandwidth to handlle high speed internet, so I don't know how to excplain it. It'll be interneting to see if Tiger fixes this.

    Has anyone else experienced something similar?
     
  13. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #13
    I believe wired connections will almost always be faster than wireless, but I'm not sure about this.
     
  14. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    At least your guys' wireless still works at all. Tiger has seemingly killed the D-Link DI-624 router my roommates and I use in our apartment. Here's what happens:

    Any time a Mac with Tiger is connected, seemingly wirelessly OR with Ethernet, it connects, receives a self-assigned IP address, gets a regular IP address, gets kicked, and then the router itself restarts.
     
  15. DND82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #15
    I noticed when I'm idle for a while the signal strength drop to 2 bars, however once I start surfing the web it pops back up to the max. :confused:
     
  16. woodsey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    #16
    Tiger boosted my wireless bars. I used to get 2 max, and as soon as i had installed tiger, the reception was full.
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    I'm getting much better reception according to Apple (Menu bar and Internet Connect window) but according to Macstumbler, it's exactly the same. I think they probably just re-calibrated it.
     
  18. Reznor7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #18
    I have yet another very odd Tiger wireless issue. I used to get full speeds across my wireless network (Airport Extreme cards and Belkin 54G router), but since I've updated my iMac and PowerBook to Tiger, the PowerBook works the same as before, but I'm getting a max of 9k/s on the iMac. The things are sitting side by side, so I have no idea why I'm taking such a hit in performance.
     
  19. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #19
    Just to let everyone know, a call to tech support revealed that we needed to zap the PRAM on our PowerBooks. Turned off the Airport cards, moved the System Preferences folder from the main library out to the Desktop, then shut down and started up holding the key combo. After Tiger booted, wireless worked fine. It was bizarre.
     
  20. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #20
    I REALLY hope the range is doubled because I sit in class next to two dorks with HP & Compaq laptops and I can't get online---while they surf the net and play battlefield.

    they love my notebook, but they laugh at my wifi connection.
     
  21. QFace macrumors member

    QFace

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #21
    AirTunes Woes

    Wireless is fine for me, but AirTunes performance sucks now... it takes much longer for iTunes to connect to my speakers when I start playing a song... what gives?
     
  22. Redline13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #22

    Thanks for posting that Cless. I have the same router and I was having a similar problem. I used the same solution to fix it. That saved me a lot of time.
     
  23. sorryiwasdreami macrumors 6502a

    sorryiwasdreami

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    way out in the sticks
    #23
    With the installation of Tiger, my wireless range has grown to it's maximum! Pages definitely seem to load quicker than with Panther. Most people are now reporting Tiger does what it did to the OP or what it has done to me; I'm not sure why.
     
  24. Riot_Mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    IL
    #24
    mine is better... with panther i was always one short of full signal now it is completely full all the time.
     
  25. quidire macrumors 6502

    quidire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC (in Kalorama Triangle)
    #25
    Here is the deal:

    The airport read-out used to show signal strength; now it shows effective maximum throughput or somesuch.

    It is a more relevant measure, but one that can differ - sometimes quite dramatically - from signal strength.

    You can for example have a very strong signal, but have a lot noise in the connection.

    -RS
     

Share This Page