Tiger not working on the G5?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by techfury90, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. techfury90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #1
    I got a copy of Tiger (NO, I'm not telling where I got it) yesterday. I can not get it to install on my G5, rather it kernel panics on bootup from the DVD with a PowerMac7,2 no drivers error. is there a way around this?
     
  2. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #2
    Try putting it on an external drive. That's working for some people.
     
  3. techfury90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
  4. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #4
    I'm have the same problem with my Tiger DVD on my 1.25 Ghz 15" PowerBook. I question the source... ;)
     
  5. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    get an external, and don't run this as your main os, it seems like you where, but it isn't even near beta or rather seeding for adc.
     
  6. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #6
    I though this version of Tiger was a really early beta version. Am I wrong?
     
  7. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    well... i don't think apple says a version is beta till adc starts seeding for beta testing and bug fixing. the version at wwdc that devs got was not even the show that steve showed which is probably an early beta, so at best i suspect is an alpha or pre alpha. Of course i don't work for apple just speculating on how jaguar and panther where built. If anyone has a press release about saying that the preview is not the Tiger preivew but the Tiger beta preivew url me.
     
  8. wi04k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    #8
    I had the same problem, and this is how it works:

    you need a clean formatted partition. boot in panther. on the tiger dvd, open /System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg. Choose to install on your clean partition. Voilà. It installs your tiger just like it should. This worked perfectly for me.

    have fun.
     
  9. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #9
    Yea, I did something like that. (since I don't have a DVD burner) I tryed to use Carbon Copy Clone to clone the disk image to my hard drive, then I boot off of that and intall Tiger on my external HD. That didn't work, so while in Panther, I opened OSInstall.mpkg and installed it onto my external HD while watching a movie. And the install only took 40-45 minuts on a 4200 RPM FireWire 400 10 GB drive. And I'm typing to you now from Tiger.

    And I've had one kernel panick in the first 10 hours using Tiger. (pokes on wood)
     
  10. techfury90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #10
    Well I'm currently using Tiger on my G5, booted off a 3G 20GB iPod (seriously).
     
  11. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #11
    Get that on your internal HD! It's awful on an iPod, runs so slowly.
    –Chase
     
  12. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #12
    get the original DVD ;)

    j/k. well actually, sort of. if you could find the donor for your copy, you'd do well to ask to borrow it to install off of that. sounds like apple might have gotten a little tricky with some sort of copy protection or something... it sounds like everyone with a burned copy is having major issues unless they put it on an external drive first.

    best of luck (even though i don't agree w/the ethical side, i'm pretty sure we're all ready for that horse to stop being beat)
     
  13. techfury90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #13
    Main HD is something I can't do, as I run a webserver for some friends.
     
  14. texboi88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    #14
    how do i burn 10.4 Tiger to a DVD-R, my friend got it via Bit Torrent, and it might be the WWCD Preview, but i am not sure... how do i burn it via Roxio Toast??
     
  15. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    first a question,

    1. what version of tiger? is it 8A268 or 8A294 or the early WWDC version?

    If you have an image file DO NOT...that is DO NOT burn using TOAST. You need to burn the image using disc utility in order to install it. I put 8A294 on my internal drive of my 17" PB, and have been running it since the date of seeding, and it runs pretty much great. There are a few hiccups, such as pro-apps dont work and iSync doesnt seem to discover my phone, but other then that for the most part its great.

    I WOULD NOT recommend doing this unless you know what you are doing, that being said - its alway real cool to sit inclass beside another mac geek and bust out Dashboard :D

    8A294 is the most recent seed, for any1 who was wondering
     
  16. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    i ran it off the dvd onto my ibook and it runs great never had a kernel panic, i have the first seed as i don't want to change it as it's stable. :cool:
     
  17. StarbucksSam macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
  18. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    so they just gave it out to developers just to piss them off, right. :cool:
     
  19. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #19
    We don't usually tell people here how to pirate software, Tiger included. If you do, great, but if you hit an error and need help because your mac is on the fritz, well... you aren't a developer and we don't know because we are not using the betas or even alphas.

    And I have no clue how to do this anyway.
     
  20. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #20

    You cant burn using toast - use Disc Utility man!
     
  21. gopher macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #21
    I don't pretend to know how to install Tiger since I've never touched it. But if it is anything like previous Mac OS X versions, this FAQ probably applies:

    http://www.macmaps.com/upgradefaq.html

    And with external Firewire drives going for $200 at OWC there is no excuse for not having one. If nothing else for having a nice mirror backup of your system in case something goes wrong. You can partition it to have one partition for your backup, and the other for Tiger testing.

    OWC is at http://www.macsales.com/
     

Share This Page