tiger on pmg4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by laidbackliam, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    I've got a g4 powermac that i would like to install tiger on. I use this as my home media server. It sits in my closet, generally doesn't even have a monitor/keyboard hooked up to it.

    It runs 10.3 right now, I was wondering if a 350mhz G4 could run tiger. I would like to be running 10.4.10 on it so I can utilize the screen sharing feature on my macbook pro once i upgrade to leopard. It would make things easier, as I would never have a need to have a monitor or keyboard hooked up to it after that.


    if anyone knows, i would really appreciate it.

    liam
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    10.4.10 runs fine on my 500 MHz G3 iBook. A 350 MHz G4 should be fine. Slow, but stable.

    edit: running 10.4.10 on a 350 MHz B&W too, as well as a 500 MHz TiBook
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #3
    I had it running on a 400mHz G4 and it ran surprisingly well. Just doing basic stuff (internet, email, iTunes), it didn't feel that much slower then my 2.0GHz G5.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yes, your 350 will run Tiger just fine - minimum spec is a G3 with built-in USB & firewire, so you won't have any problems, and other than when using spotlight it shouldn't feel any slower than Panther. :)

    FWIW I have a G4-400 running Tiger Server 10.4.10 - it handles my music library (via iTunes & Firefly media server) along with iPhoto, FTP, Mail and Web servers - it works unbelievably well for such an old machine. Prior to the G4, I was using a G3-350 for the same job, also with Tiger - it felt a little slow when logged into it, but it did its job more than adequately.

    Go for it =]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #5
    So I've got tiger on it now. Works great.

    The DVD drive is busted though. Had to clone my friends iBook drive. Yes, I did buy tiger before doing this.

    Was running a little slow, but then i disabled spotlight and dashboard, and it runs great. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page