tiger on pmg4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by laidbackliam, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. laidbackliam
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    I've got a g4 powermac that i would like to install tiger on. I use this as my home media server. It sits in my closet, generally doesn't even have a monitor/keyboard hooked up to it.

    It runs 10.3 right now, I was wondering if a 350mhz G4 could run tiger. I would like to be running 10.4.10 on it so I can utilize the screen sharing feature on my macbook pro once i upgrade to leopard. It would make things easier, as I would never have a need to have a monitor or keyboard hooked up to it after that.


    if anyone knows, i would really appreciate it.

    liam
     
  2. FJ218700
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    10.4.10 runs fine on my 500 MHz G3 iBook. A 350 MHz G4 should be fine. Slow, but stable.

    edit: running 10.4.10 on a 350 MHz B&W too, as well as a 500 MHz TiBook
     
  3. wwooden
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #3
    I had it running on a 400mHz G4 and it ran surprisingly well. Just doing basic stuff (internet, email, iTunes), it didn't feel that much slower then my 2.0GHz G5.
     
  4. tersono
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yes, your 350 will run Tiger just fine - minimum spec is a G3 with built-in USB & firewire, so you won't have any problems, and other than when using spotlight it shouldn't feel any slower than Panther. :)

    FWIW I have a G4-400 running Tiger Server 10.4.10 - it handles my music library (via iTunes & Firefly media server) along with iPhoto, FTP, Mail and Web servers - it works unbelievably well for such an old machine. Prior to the G4, I was using a G3-350 for the same job, also with Tiger - it felt a little slow when logged into it, but it did its job more than adequately.

    Go for it =]
     
  5. laidbackliam
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #5
    So I've got tiger on it now. Works great.

    The DVD drive is busted though. Had to clone my friends iBook drive. Yes, I did buy tiger before doing this.

    Was running a little slow, but then i disabled spotlight and dashboard, and it runs great. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page