Tiger Reinstall

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gsharma88, Aug 16, 2006.

1. gsharma88 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm new to the Macworld. I just bought a used G3 ibook (running Tiger) through e-bay. However, I did not receive the Tiger installation/restore cds. I'm wondering what would I do if I need to reinstall somewhere down the line? Is there a way I can make a installation copy of Tiger from the copy of Tiger already installed on my HD? Or some other way?

Thanks
    Gaurav

2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

Benjamindaines

The only thing you could do is make a bootable (complete copy) back up of you hard drive then restore to that. But I suggest buying a Tiger install CD.

Congratulations on your switch!

3. gsharma88 thread starter macrumors newbie

Hi,

You mean create a bootable copy on a cd? How would I go ahead doing that, if you don't mind explaining?

(PS: I've been a hardcore PC user since I was 9 (now I'm 18), and by hardcore, I mean telling someone how to do something (including repairing etc.) on a pc before they even finish their question. I have been wanting a mac for the past 2-3 years, but I wanted to try a cheaper ibook before buying a new imac or macbook pro. But lol I guess I have to learn how to handle OS X, even though I might be an advanced Windows user. Right now I feel like a new immigrant in a new country whose previous degrees and experience do not count for anything :D )

Thanks

4. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

CANEHDN

If you can wait, I would wait for Leopard. That way you don't buy Tiger then want to get Leopard in a few months. If you can't wait, I would just go buy Tiger. That is going to be your best option.

5. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

Benjamindaines

Leopard won't run on G3s (at least the developer preview, the final version might be different).

6. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

Benjamindaines