Tiger Release Date: Mar 2005

Discussion in 'macOS' started by pimentoLoaf, Jan 28, 2005.

1. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

pimentoLoaf

How do I know?

Can't be certain, but Scott Kelby's Tiger Tips book has a publication date of 25 Mar 2005.

Could this be a more qualified hint than all the rest?

2. maya macrumors 68040

maya

It could or could not be, maybe a coincidence who knows.

There have been multiple threads of this nature in regards to publishing dates on Amazon. :)

3. miloblithe macrumors 68020

miloblithe

Sounds early to me for what we've been hearing about builds, but I'm no expert on this stuff. If it comes out in March, that would equal the 15-month gap between 10.2 and 10.3.

4. sjpetry macrumors 65816

sjpetry

That would be nice, I just hope they have enough copies for everyone. :)

5. BWhaler macrumors 68020

BWhaler

Most Tiger books are showing a publish date of either 3/24 or 3/25.

I use to be excited about that little "find," but I suspect it is just a generic publishing date and could easily change.

Given the recent rumors of new found functionality in the Tiger builds, including the fact that Steve was using a build at MWSF that is more current than what developers have seen, I suspect Apple is still in development mode, and will start a true beta some time in February.

My bet nowadays is we will see Tiger released at WWDC. Apple can demo to the press and developers new functionality not show publicly, and get developers fired up to build apps for Tiger.

Given this is the last OS upgrade for a couple of years, I am happy to have Apple put as much into Tiger as possible. I'll gladly wait until June for a markedly better OS with tons of new features, less bugs, and more security due diligence.

6. maya macrumors 68040

maya

You can count on a late beta test for Tiger or a early March.

It should be released sometime late April, early May.