Tiger server -> Leopard server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by tzidore, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    Hello

    I'm switching from tiger to leopard server on Xserve.

    Does anyone know how to copy the open directory users from my old tiger server to the new leopard server without loosing any user data?

    Kind Regards
    tzidore
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #2
    No matter what, you won't be getting the passwords. How may users do you have on it?
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  4. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  5. macrumors 68000

    FoxyKaye

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, Terre d'Ange, Bas Lag, Gallifrey
    #5
    Eeee - I'm hella wary of doing upgrade installs of OS X Server. Given that the only two choices are "Upgrade" or "Erase," I vote "Erase." I suppose it's a time investment question - I'd rather spend time re-configuring a new installation than re-re-configuring an upgrade installation. It just hasn't worked out pretty whenever I've tried to do upgrades (Jaguar to Panther, and much later, Panther to Tiger).

    Edit: I was spared the Tiger to Leopard decision by way of a new XServe that shipped with Leopard.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #6
    Sounds like backing up Open Directory via Server Admin and then restoring it onto Leopard will do the trick providing the paths to the user home directories etc remains unchanged. My user directories are on a separate HDD, so I guess that'd all be relatively rosy...

    ...still don't know if I've actually got the balls to upgrade yet though. I mean, if it ain't broke...
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #7
    I'm wary of upgrading any production server. Its an accident waiting to happen. Usually when I upgrade an OS on a server (PC Hardware FreeBSD), I have a test server I install on, get it running the test environment, move the users to it, and then upgrade the production hardware. Granted this is not easy with any Apple equipment, as its really expensive. I just wanted to show how far some are willing to go to avoid "upgrading". If your uptime is a must, doing it this way is really a must too.

    It works really nice if you have a SAN environment with a nice fiber switch. No need to migrate the users, just put a new server on the SAN "network" and point things in the right direction. That was how my old mail environment was at my old job. We moved to at least 5 different front ends in around a 6 month time frame. No one other than the admins knew it was different until we sent an email to the users telling them the mail environment was upgraded.
     

Share This Page