Tiger speed on a "Smurf tower"? (a PowerMac G3/350)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nagromme, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #1
    Anyone tried 10.4 on a G3 yet? How does general responsiveness compare to Panther?

    How about compared to 10.1? (I'm asking for a friend.)

    TIA
     
  2. Macaddicttt macrumors 6502a

    Macaddicttt

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    I'd like to know, too. My parents have a B&W G3 with 10.1 and I'm trying to get them to upgrade.
     
  3. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
  4. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #4
    Thanks. Are you saying that Tiger runs slower than Panther on your G3?

    Or just a general comment that people shouldn't be using G3s at all? My G3 and my friend's continue to serve well. Macs stay useful for years.
     
  5. Macaddicttt macrumors 6502a

    Macaddicttt

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    I don't know if upgrading hardware is really necessary for my parents. All they do is use Word, Excel, internet, email, and do taxes. They seem to be doing well as it is, but I'm wondering if they'll benefit much from Tiger and some new RAM.
     
  6. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    montreal
    #6
    I'm really curious to know the answer to this as well. I've got a 500mhz iMac, running jaguar. Should i go for tiger or try to just get a cheap copy of panther somewhere. And please, don't bother with the "get a new computer" remarks. If you could pay for my next imac and either disassemble my old one into easily recyclable pieces or find someone who could make use of this "antiquated", 4 year old computer, I'll upgrade my hardware. Until then, I'd just like to know if I can benefit from this fine new piece of software apple's putting out.
     
  7. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #7
    BTW, please also post your video board along with your G3 reports.

    I'm interested in Tiger vs. earlier OS X's on Smurf Towers that still have the standard Rage 128, 16 MB VRAM.

    TIA!
     
  8. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    i was making a comment about tiger on a G3. Not the G3. tiger is very demanding. they'll get alot of beach balls.
     
  9. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #9
    Thanks. More beachballs than 10.1? More than Panther?

    (I'm wondering what the best OS X for a G3 is.)

    And how much RAM does your tower have?
     
  10. mcdermd macrumors regular

    mcdermd

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #10
    I've just used it for a day now, but my G3 got a mild speed increase.

    It's 400mhz G3, 768mb RAM, 64mb Radeon 7000

    It got an XBench score of 37.15 on 10.3.9 and a 38.90 on Tiger. Seems a bit snappier, felt even better with PCI Extreme on it (which is not a good idea if they do anything with video playing).

    Still shaking out the bugs, though.
     
  11. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #11
    Like nagromme implies, it's going to depend on how much RAM you have.

    In my experience, if you're dealing with less than 256MB, then you probably want to stop at 10.2--it just handles limited RAM better than 10.3 (or, I assume, Tiger), and it's MUCH faster than 10.1. 10.3 will run better than 10.2, but only with sufficient RAM (probably 384MB or more).

    Tiger probably likes RAM too (how much, I haven't seen reports yet), but I don't know how it's going to feel speed-wise on a G3, seen, though I may install a copy on an old iMac just to see. Definitely faster than 10.3 on a G5, but that doesn't necessarily translate.
     
  12. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #12
    Good to know. My friend plans on adding RAM anyway (to 640 probably), but the Rage 128 is going to stay.

    Anybody running Tiger on a Rage 128 G3?
     
  13. jayscheuerle macrumors 68020

    jayscheuerle

    #13
    Fight beachballs with lots of RAM and 3+ gigs of free space on your drive.

    You'll be fine then.
     
  14. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #14

    I will let you know.. MY G4 upgraded B&W has tiger installed.. I will dig up and re-install the G3 350 MHZ this afternoon. I am curious myself as well.

    Regards,

    840
     
  15. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #15
    I've got that system!

    Yeah, I'm running 10.4 on my B/W G3/400mHz/Rage 128. Its running a Netware wireless card (I think) and it is no different than Panther.
    Its actually a 350mHz machine, but I overclocked it about 2 days after getting it back in 1999.

    I have 450mb of RAM , and I do notice a slight boost in the responsiveness to the system. Safari runs better. Dashboard runs OK, but I don't find myself using it too much at this time. Expose (I use all the time) is no different, it chugs, but gets the job done.

    All in all, I would say Tiger is Better than Panther on my G3/400 w/450mb RAM.
     
  16. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #16
    Cool. And how about Panther/Tiger vs. 10.1?

    My friend finds 10.1 performance acceptable with 128 MB. If he can upgrade to 640 RAM and Tiger, and maintain that performance, he'll be happy.
     
  17. jayscheuerle macrumors 68020

    jayscheuerle

    #17
    Is he nuts? 10.1 is barely useable.

    He should be on AT LEAST 10.2.8...
     
  18. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #18
    Depends what you're used to, I guess. I'm amazed how heavily he uses it. And for stability and features, he finds it worth not booting to OS 9 which he also has installed.

    He hasn't wanted to put more money into that old machine, but the time has come, maybe. I'd have upgraded sooner, but that's just me :D
     
  19. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #19
    I use Panther on my 400Mhz B&W with 256MB of RAM... Smoooooooooth

    Haven't got around to putting Tiger atm, since I've loaned it to a friend for the time being.
     
  20. csubear macrumors 6502a

    csubear

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #21
    Thats a blanket statement. From what I have seen, as long as you have > 256MB ram and >3GB of free hard drive space, tiger runs faster than panther on all supported mac hardware.

    I don't see why you would not want to upgrade you G3 to tiger, or at least panther. Apple has done alot of work to the core sub-system since 10.1, and everything is faster.
     
  21. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #22
    Can't help ya there, I haven't used 10.1 since, jeez ummmm, 2002? Is that when it was out? Even then I still used 9.2.2 because all (practically all) my programs worked only in that OS.
    Sorry.
     
  22. Xeem macrumors 6502a

    Xeem

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #23
    I'd say more than 384MB. On my 400mHz, Titanium Powerbook with 384MB Jaguar ran noticeably smoother than Panther does. Panther is far from unusable, but even too many Safari tabs can cause slowdown, and I can hardly multitask anymore. :(
     
  23. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #24
    Thanks for the responses. Sounds like with 640 RAM, Tiger should be decent on a 350 MHz G3 with RAGE 128. Especially if my friend finds 10.1 acceptable on 128 MB!
     
  24. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #25
    Dumbest... Comment... Ever.....

    PB G3 500MHz 384MB RAM 12Gig HD. 8MB VRAM
    Speed:
    9<10.2<10.3<10.4
    Memory
    10.2<10.4<10.3<9
    Apps
    9<10.2<10.3<10.4 (Most 10.3 work on 10.4)

    No reason to upgrade this baby. 10.5 may be a different matter, that thats 18 or so months away - by that time this laptop will be 6 1/2 years old.
     

Share This Page