Tiger Speed?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sun25, May 2, 2005.

  1. sun25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    I was wondering how tiger compared to Panther interms of speed
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    On two fresh installs on the G4 and the iBook, ues, quite an improvement.

    The iMac G5 with an archive and install? Meh.
     
  3. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #3
    On a dual G5 with a lot of RAM (2.5GB) it's noticably faster than 10.3, which is impressive, since it already ran quite well.

    There have been some noticable glitches (though no panics), but hopefully those will work out in the wash or be fixed in 10.4.1.
     
  4. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #4
    Runs faster (slightly) on my machine. Wasn't expecting an increase.

    However... was playing WoW last night and suddenly my hard drive went nuts. Tiger was doing something resource-intensive and dropped my machine to a crawl. Quit WoW, force quit both Firefox and iMail and everything returned to normal.

    Not sure what happened. (No, Spotlight indexing was done hours earlier.)
     
  5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #5
    Other than startup, I notice no speed difference on my ibook g3 800 GHz with 640 Ram
     
  6. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #6
    It may have been indexing another large file that you might have added recently, or it may have been attempting to index the game files.

    Spotlight behaves oddly sometimes.
     
  7. Cuckoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    The Netherlands - Utrecht
    #7
    I've got a PB1,25ghz with 700something MB of ram, and no noticable difference, although i get the feeling that the CPU is pulling more weight.... some apps don't seem as snappy......
     

Share This Page