Tiger Theme for XP

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Rocky3478, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Rocky3478 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #1
    I used all Stardock programs. Just go to www.stardock.com. I used ObjectBar for the Finder Bar, Object Dock for the dock, and Windowblinds for the basic user interface, along with several custom themes and LOTS of customizing. Eats up about 10Mb of RAM. Definetly worth it to me. Took me all weekend to make it. and this is the result... :D :cool:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Oh, and this didn't cost me anything, although I have to click out of two pop-ups when the computer boots up. If I wanted to get rid of those, I'd only have to pay $40 anyway. This works for the time being. My thinking is that since I am switching later this year, I'll be able to get used to some of OS X's functions and looks before I switch. Any other questions are very welcome.
     
  2. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    OS X beats that out a million times over. For one, no popups when you start up! :p

    Nice job, though. Looks cool!
     
  3. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #3
    Thanks. You wouldn't believe how much work went into that. I wholeheartly agree that OS X eats this for lunch everyday, but ATM, XP is all that I have availible to me :eek: :mad: . Must be patient for the REAL mac!!!! :D
     
  4. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #4
    That's a very nice job, one of the better ones I've seen.

    Although the blue triangles on the Dock (or Tast Bar.. tehehe :D ) make it look a little different from the real one.
     
  5. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #5
    Yeah, can't get rid of them. They actually show what's running ATM. There are a couple of options but no "disappear" one. :(
     
  6. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6

    you did a good job nonetheless, and it only eats up 10mb of memory? if you have that much to spare thats cool, i think you did a good job, too bad its not the real deal though
     
  7. Kassandra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #7
    setting up windows like osx takes forever lol, i'm currently using a pink version of the milk theme (a very popular osx theme for windows) and objectdock, usually I use YzDock, but needed the taskbar. I might reinstall objectbar for the complete look.

    Here's my current setup:

    (Click for full)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    And my best efforts in the past:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    PearPC:
    [​IMG]

    A Linux setup (not actually linux):
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/23762/screenshot-23762.jpg

    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/23847/screenshot-23847.jpg

    And a couple of icky windows setups, but the nicer ones I've used:
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/25165/screenshot-25165.jpg
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/17019/screenshot-17019.jpg
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/14445/screenshot-14445.jpg
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/7812/screenshot-7812.jpg
    http://screenshots.haque.net/screenshots/view/10703/screenshot-10703.jpg

    Whew!
     
  8. iMatt mini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    #8
    I tried something like that about a month ago. Then I thought, who am I fooling, I should just buy a Mac. :rolleyes: Still waiting for that day. Hope it's soon.
     
  9. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #9
    Well, Welcome to the light side of computing. It is a bit early, but I think it is OK. :)
     
  10. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #10
    Very nice!!
     
  11. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #11
    How do you skin iTunes?

    It doesn't seem to work...

    And, whats the program you used to get the icons like that Kassandra?
     
  12. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
  13. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #13
  14. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #14
  15. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #15
    How do you manage to take the screen shot's that include the dock.

    Everytime I take a screenshot it caputers everything except the dock why :confused:

    Also what app do you use :confused:
     
  16. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #16
    If your dock is set to minimize automatically you'll need to disable that function. I just use the standard CONTROL+PRINT SCREEN method. Also, what app are you referring to?
     
  17. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #17
    I just tried it right now. I held my mouse at the bottom so that my dock appeared. Then I pushed APPLE+SHIFT+3 and it took a screen shot with the dock and everything else I had on my screen.
     
  18. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #18
    I don't have it to minimize automatically. YzDock

    And I was reffering to the screenshot app. ;)
    For some or another the CONTROL+PRINT SCREEN does not work. or am I look in a wrong place...where would they end up :confused:
     
  19. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #19
    Yes when I use a mac everything is easy and works but not on a wintel box :mad:
     
  20. Timelessblur macrumors 65816

    Timelessblur

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    #20
  21. dsharits macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #21
    Well, you can change the theme and make it look like OS X, but underneath, it's still Windows. :p It does look pretty good though.

    Daniel
     
  22. Rocky3478 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #22
    You know, I did try that program. Unfortunatly, it ate up 60+ Mbyts of RAM, even when idle. I only have 512 Mb of RAM ATM, so I had to uninstall the program. Awesome progam though....
     
  23. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #23
    Very true. Look and feel...alas it does wonders to your daily experience. Why do you think there are sites like Aquasoft/Aerosoft? B/c we can't stand to use the default XP theme all day. Lol.

    In fact, I'm my own version of a "Tiger" theme right now. Though, its a mod of 3 or more other versions out there. I guess a picture won't hurt >> they'll probably assault me if I tried to "release" it as "mine" (it clearly isn't).

    Ok, I have no idea how to make clickable pictures on this forum (html doesn't seem to work)

    http://www.wam.umd.edu/~ahuang/desktop2.PNG
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #24
    Have you tried the tag and the [img] tag with the / in it?

    [URL=http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=102527]In here[/URL] if you look you will find a URL to "How to use vBcode" or something like that.
     
  25. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #25
    Ahh! FlyakiteOSX doesn't like ObjectDock too well :mad:
     

Share This Page