Tiger's VPN Capabilities

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Diomedes, Apr 20, 2005.

1. Diomedes macrumors 6502

I, like many users out there, are forced to use a Cisco-distributed VPN client to authenticate with their servers. Does anyone know if Tiger's VPN will allow connections to Cisco VPN appliances?

From what I can tell, the Cisco client doesn't do anything remarkable superficially - it uses IPSec over UDP. My organization uses group authentication, then user authentication.

Does the Cisco VPN client do something behind the scenes which allows it to be the only client to connect to its VPN servers? (And I mean a technical reason, not Cisco-bashing.)

To be honest, I can't complain about their upkeep of the application - it pretty much has parity with the Windows version. However, since you can only get it through Cisco, it is another thing I have to keep on my WAN team about (and I'm an IT manager, fer crying out loud...)

So...I digress. Does anyone know if Tiger will allow connections to Cisco VPN servers?

2. Bear macrumors G3

In theory it works.

In practice, it depends on which Cisco VPN product you are using and how it is customized. However, I too am also interested in the answer specifically for the VPN3000 product.

3. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

ZildjianKX

Just FYI, there is no current Cisco VPN client that works with Tiger... and the Tiger VPN client doesn't have any group authentication options that I could find... so if you upgrade to Tiger you're SOL.

4. Westside guy macrumors 601

Westside guy

Anyone know if NAT traversal is implemented in Tiger?

5. Diomedes thread starter macrumors 6502

You've tested the Cisco VPN client (4.602) on Tiger and confirmed it doesn't work?

6. ZildjianKX macrumors 68000

ZildjianKX