Time Capsule Flashing Amber

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by Frame1974, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #1
    Hi - New on here.

    I have recently moved to live in a household where there is already wifi set up. My Timecapsule for now is just being used to back up my 2 computers. Also to provide a local network for wireless printing and access between the two macs.

    Is it right that it should now flash amber all the time or should it be green?

    Hope someone can help me.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #2
    Honestly - did you even try a Google search first?

    No - a properly set up TC shouldn't flash amber all the time.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #3
    Sorry for the d***ish response above. Welcome!

    The manual:
    manuals.info.apple.com/en/TimeCapsule_SetupGuide.pdfSimilar
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #4
    Thank you for your reply. In answer to your question, yes I did do a Google search first, and check some forums, but it still flashes amber.

    I don't understand why hence my asking for some help.

    Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #5
    It's flashing amber probably because it's not connected to the internet. You can through through the setup and have your TC extend the in-house network. I think in the setup it asks if you want to create a new network or join a current network. Re-run the setup in Airport Utility and choose to join the current network and you should see that light turn green. :)
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #6
    It's flashing amber to let you know a firmware update is available. :eek:
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #7
    This as well. :)
     
  8. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    Mine doesn't flash amber with an update. In fact I'm a version down and it only pops up a reminder to d/l the update from time to time.

    Mine flashes amber a lot and when that occurs I lose all connectivity. I'm thinking its on its way out.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #9
    Thank you for your help - it's now flashing green.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #10
    Mine flashed amber a few weeks ago and it was a signal that I had an update available.
     
  11. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    I'm down a version and it never flashes amber to remind me. A pop up window occurs telling me, but the router itself stays steady green. The only time I see a flashing amber color is when I lose connectivity
     

Share This Page