Time Capsule Losing Connection to Modem Overnight

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by thelucas, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #1
    Guys/Gals,

    I have a Time Capsule (2TB) that operates on 2GHZ and 5GHZ bands.

    I have been having periodic problems with internet access so cable company came in and gave me a new modem, check the lines, etc. I can get everything up and running and getting speeds in the area of 30-45mbps - better than what I pay for.

    The problem is after an extended time, usually overnight/app 24 hours, the TC doesn't broadcast the internet connection any more (or my machines get speeds of 1-2 mbps) even though the modem indicates it's connected to the internet. I can re-establish a connection if I unplug both modem and TC, plug in modem and wait for connection, then plug in TC. I would rather not have to go through this every morning and would like to have the internet be ready and able when I wake up.

    Is there some setting in TC that I need to change?

    Thanks for any assistance you may be able to offer.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    I can't think of any setting in the Time Capsule that might cause that. Did they by any chance install a modem/router combo and that is causing conflict?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for the quick response!

    It's a straight Motorola cable modem (SB6121). It's not a modem/router combo.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #4
    That is a very common modem and should work fine with a default TC setup. It sounds to me more like a problem with the Internet connection itself dropping and nothing to do with the TC.

    When this happens, if you reboot the TC ONLY does the connection come back? If not, that points to the cable company having a problem.

    http://192.168.100.1/

    When this happens try clicking this link. That should take you to the cable modem's internal status page. See if that page shows it is connected and look at the logs at that page.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestion. I will give that a go.

    Before I got your message, the internet went down again (less than 2 hours after I reset everything). To test, I am taking the TC out of the equation. I've reset the modem and I've plugged in the modem directly into the MBPro. Getting 30+mpbs.

    We'll see how long it will last. When it falls apart, I'll try your suggestion above and let you know how it goes.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Your cable company wouldn't happen to be Time Warner, would it?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #7
    Ha! Nope, I'm Charter. Still testing...
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #8
    Ok, making progress - I think. I lost most of my connection (multiple computers at 7, 10 mbps) and reset only the TC (unplugged it, waited, plugged it back in). Speed are at +30 mbps. So it's the TC? Looked at the modem logs at 192.168.100.1. I don't know quite how to interpret them:


    Jan 04 2013 11:32:10 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:02 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 04 2013 09:33:00 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:02 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 04 2013 09:05:54 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:01 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 04 2013 08:18:04 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:01 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 04 2013 08:06:44 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:02 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 04 2013 07:56:22 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:01 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:13 6-Notice N/A Cable Modem Reboot due to power reset ;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:04 5-Warning Z00.0 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

    Jan 01 1970 00:00:02 5-Warning D04.1 ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=7c:bf:b1:d3:29:a7;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:2b:40;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
    Status | Signal | Addresses | Configuration | Logs | Open Source | Help
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #9
    If it helps...

    ...periodically, I am getting the Chrome error page that says, "This webpage is not available" even right after I do a speed test at speedtest.net that returned a 47 mbps and after trying to log in to this forum.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #10
    What happened when you ran directly connected to the modem with no TC?

    Usually is the cable modem drops the signal, you will see that in the logs... and I don't see that. All I see is you manual reboots of the modem in the logs.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #11
    We're almost there...

    Here's an update.

    I think there is something running on my iMac that is sucking up all the bandwidth. The moment I shut off the iMac Internet speeds went back to normal. (It has been on for literally weeks) I kept it off all afternoon and night and enjoyed fast Internet speeds on multiple devices.

    This morning at 5am I was browsing on my ipad and the Internet slowed down. When I went downstairs, my iMac had auto started at 5am per energy saver settings on system prefences.

    Now I need to figure out what that bandwidth hog is on the iMac.

    ----------

    Yup. I tried connecting directly to the modem yesterday and was able to surf at good speeds for a few hours.
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #12
    If you start Activity Monitor from /Applications/Utilities and look at the Network tab on the right, you can see if you Mac's network activity.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    #13
    Solved!

    It was Blackblaze running on the iMac in the background. Currently tinkering with the settings to see if I can fix the problem. If not, bye-bye, Backblaze.
     
  14. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #14
    Ahah! Yep... that would chew up your data. I use Crashplan and it has the option of only backing up at certain times. I would think Backblaze would have something similar.
     

Share This Page