Time Machine and NAS on 10.8?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by acosmichippo, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #1
    Hey guys, I'm not sure if this is the best place for this thread. Anyway, I'm currently looking for an NAS solution to back up my macs. With a quick google search, I've found that Lion broke Time Machine compatibility for a lot of people's NAS...

    So has anyone tried it with Mountain Lion? Or was the issue resolved in Lion?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #2
    I use a Synology for several things around the house. I carved off a portion for TimeMachine and have a couple of Macs that backup to it via Time Machine. Both Macs are currently running 10.8 GM now. No complaints.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #3
    Awesome, thanks.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #4
    For what it is worth my QNAP works perfectly with Time Machine on my rMBP running Lion. (It's a TS-419p+ but I think the software is common between most of the models.)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #5
    Just for a conclusion, I ended up getting a Synology ds411j. It's backing up with Time Machine on the Mountain Lion GM right now.

    Thans again for the input.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #6
    QNAP doesn't work with ML10.8 yet. They're working on a firmware update. Just an FYI. I'm backing up to a FW drive for the time being.

    Seems to me this happened with Lion as well, and QNAP had to update.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #7
    Those not having problems with Synology and ML could you tell me your Synology Release.

    I am on DSM 4.0-2228 and it I can no longer use it for Time Machine Backups. Had no problems with Lion.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #8

    I am also having the same issues. Like d21mike said version 4.0-2228 doesn't seem to work with ML.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #9
    yeah, I'll check when I get home.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #10
    I'm havin issues with Time Machine on a DLink DNS-320. However I think it is to do with the Asus DSL-N55U router they connect through rather than ML. Anyone got TM working through this router? Had it working on a older router with Lion for a while then it just stopped working one day.

    Was hoping ML was going to fix it for me.

    Flakey to say the least...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #11
    I am also on 4.0-2228, model DS4111j. It's working just fine for me.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #12
    That's odd. I can't even see my backup disk. Maybe I'll try to disable/enable it again
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #13
    A restart of my synology fixed it.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #14
    So far, so good with a DS411 and 10.8.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #15
    DS212 working fine thr' airport extreme and 10.8. Backing 3 macs with no partition. NAS also iTunes server, plus photos etc.
    Using DSM 4.
    Only one time glitch never repeated.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #16
    Tried that but did not fix mine.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #17
    Try disabling and enabling backups.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #18
    Wireless Backup?

    I'm looking into purchasing a NAS as well, most likely from Synology. Upon further google searching I've found the same as the OP, issues everywhere and little support from either the manufacturer or Apple..

    Just wondering if those of you without problems backing up with Time Machine have been able to do so wirelessly?
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #19
    Well I used a WD mybook live for about 6 months with time machine under Lion both wirelessly and ethernet. At times it was very slow although it never corrupted the sparse bundle. There was never rhyme or reason why at times it would take hours for just an hourly backup. So I only did manual backups.

    I since purchased a Gen4 time capsule and it has worked flawlessly with time machine. Its 100x faster for wirelessly backing up even with Mountain Lion. I do know when Apple changed time machine under Lion many 3rd party devices had issues getting time machine to work. Those issues have since been resolved, but I can't explain why they don't work as well as the time capsule.
     
  20. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #20
    This seems to happen with each OS upgrade. For a month or so after the update there are posts about people with various NAS devices waiting for updates to get Time Machine working again.

    Makes one hesitant to rely on these devices for Time Machine.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #21
    My WD NAS has not had any issues at all. If all you use it for is time machine it is nice. I personally would spend more money and get the Synology one if I were doing it over though.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #22
    I really like the Synology NAS for everything but the Time Machine backup (because of the upgrade to ML 10.8). I contacted Synology Support and they recommended the latest beta but others were saying they have problems with the beta as well. For me I prefer not using beta software for my NAS device because of the other reasons I use it. So, I decided to get a Time Capsule to be used for backups and also for a Wifi Access Point. I have zero problems with the Time Capsule. Again, the Synology NAS is a great machine for all of the other reasons I use it. And, maybe it is not there fault that ML 10.8 does not work with it.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #23
    Just to follow up on this - polaris20 was correct and ML wasn't connecting to my QNAP properly after the upgrade to ML. A firmware update from QNAP has now fixed the problem.
     
  24. P4G
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #24
    I too have had problems using TimeMachine. I was using Netgear's ReadyNAS Duo, and had problems with Lion and Mountain Lion. I got so frustrated, that I just went out and bought a TimeCapsule.

    I do backups from both wireless and ethernet devices, but the wireless ones were having the problems. I am guessing it is to do with disconnecting from the network in the middle of a backup or something like that.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #25
    Aww man, I'm so divided.

    Can Time Capsule be used well for NAS, Media Server (xbmc) and Remote Access?

    The most basic Synology setup for 2TB + DS 212 + wifi dongle with N/300Mbps will cost $350, but it's expandable with the addition of a whole plethora of options.

    It's $300/260 refurb for a 2TB Time Capsule...but might just crash and die down the road.

    I can't believe an Apple product has become the less expensive option.
     

Share This Page