Time machine backing up wrong partition (pic inside)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by petey2133, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. petey2133 macrumors member

    Dec 20, 2012
    So I set up my time capsule tonight, and about a few days ago I reset my computer to have a fresh start. So it did the 26 gig sized back up. During this I decided to partition the TC so I can just store all my .NEF files for photography that take up a bunch of random space on my MB PRO HD.

    I also did my wifes MB PRO no issue.

    Now When I do my back up, it is trying to force the backup on my Partitioned drive and make me do the initial backup again. I dont want this.

    I want it to do the top one not the bottom. When I go to select a drive, two are available, (says remove disk or use this disk) so I can remove and use and to no prevale.

    Any idea what I am doing wrong? I attached a picture of what I am talking about below.

  2. Macman45 macrumors G5


    Jul 29, 2011
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    This can happen when users partition the TC...I think the best option for you is a little messy but...

    1) Copy all the data OFF the partition you created on the TC.

    2) Remove / Merge that partition.

    3) Backup

    4) If you really need to re-create that partition, the time to do it is after the backup is complete.
  3. petey2133 thread starter macrumors member

    Dec 20, 2012
    Thanks a lot for the quick reply. Will try that!

Share This Page