Time Machine help (shared drive)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Travisimo, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #1
    I have an iMac running Lion with a USB external drive attached for my Time Machine. The Time Machine is working great on this Mac. I just bought a Macbook Air and wanted to use the same Time Machine drive via the network, but I can't seem to get it to show up in the "Select Drive" setting in Time Machine on my MBA.

    Via many Google searches, the main instructions I found said to do the following:

    - Share the Time Machine drive on my iMac. So I went into Settings/Sharing and added my external drive to share and made sure it was set to Read/Write.

    - On my Macbook Air, I connected to my iMac using the account listed for Read/Write access. The external drive showed up and I double-clicked on it to mount it. The drive then showed up under "Devices" on my MBA and had the little Eject button next to it, so I know it was mounted.

    - Then I opened Time Machine on my MBA but the drive is not showing up.

    I'm not sure what I'm missing??? The only thing I read somewhere is that Lion made changes to the way Time Machine works and that it only supports AFP and not SMB? I don't really understand either of those, but the external drive is showing up via SMB, I believe.

    Is there any way for me to use this external drive on my iMac as my Time Machine drive on my MBA?

    Thanks!
     
  2. CallumCc, Aug 3, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Machester, UK
    #2
    Hello, follow this guide - http://techpump.co.uk/?p=105 - it should make sense for an external drive as well, if not leave a comment and i'll try and help.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. Fortunately, all I had to do was reboot both machines and then the drive showed up in the Time Machine settings. Currently backing up.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    #4
    i am trying this same exact thing but i keep getting this error on my mba: The backup disk is not available.
     

Share This Page