Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tsk

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 14, 2004
Wisconsin
I'm very close to buying my first Mac (a Powerbook 15") and would like to time my purchase to get me the best price.

I've been assuming that sometime after Christmas Apple would probably drop prices (or perhaps bump up CPU speed a bit). Does Apple traditionally do this? I know the PC's pretty regularly announce price drops around early Feb.

So if anyone can offer me advice on this, I'd really appreciate it (I have read the buying advice and I know it's listed as Mid Cycle).

And I am a graduate student with a family so every $ counts.

Kingsnapped

macrumors 6502a
Oct 16, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
If you have the cash, you would be good to order it Friday (to assure you get iLife '04). MacWorld showed no updates, and there aren't any expos for a while. Keep in mind that the PB G4 is a dying breed, the G5's are said to be out by the end of the year. I think price is going to be much higher once this transition happens.

Don't be afraid to place an order because of some updates that might happen, in this world there is always a update or something around the corner, just order it whenever you want it.

Grimace

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2003
with Hamburglar.
buy now - the price won't do very much of anything. The only difference may be a speed bump some time before summer.

People underestimate the value of having it now over saving $50.

superbovine

macrumors 68030
Nov 7, 2003
buy any extra ram of a third party. that will save you between $50 and $100 more if you load it with a lot of memory.

Icekey

macrumors member
Oct 14, 2003
Melbourne, Australia