Tips on improving my G4 Cube performance

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by California, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #1
    I sold my beloved silent upgrade Mac Mini PPC G4 1.5ghz. I had it maxed out with a 100 7200rpm hd and 1 gig of ram -- I just could not handle the fact that there was only one ram slot ( I didn't know this when I purchased it!)

    I always need to have two macs workable, just in case. I have a stock G4 500mhz Cube (originally purchased directly from Apple) and just bought one of those CPU upgrades to 1.2ghz. It's got 1.5 gigs of ram. I am thinking of buying a dvi video card so I can run my 23" ACD with it.

    Is there anything else I can do to speed up my old Cube?

    Does anyone know about the patch so I can run more than 128 gbs hard drive?

    Any other speed suggestions?
     
  2. macrumors member

    ctango

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Mountains
    #2
    Buy an external firewire case and run your big HDD's from that. It will bypass the 32 bit issue.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #3
    Glad I asked... what is the 32 bit issue?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    errol

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    I believe it means that your cube would be limited to 120gb of HD space, no matter how large the HD installed is in size.
     
  5. macrumors member

    ctango

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Mountains
    #5
    I believe it is the IDE controller. It can only address about 128GB of physical addresses on a disk. After that it loops back to 0. So if you put in a 160GB drive, it would only read it as a 32GB drive.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #6
    I'm dumb, but I don't think the 32 bit issue is about hard drive space... it is about firewire versus internal hard drive controller read/write speeds.

    I am looking for as much speed punch as I can get out of this old Cube.

    Anyone know if it is faster to run an external hard drive or an internal one, ala a 32 bit issue?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #7
    By the time you count the cost of the 1.2GB processor, the video upgrade and an external Firewire HD, you could buy a new Intel Mini at $599.

    Yes, there is a patch that can be downloaded from Apple to overcome the 128 GB barrier. The speed of your internal ATA66 5400 RPM HD is 66MBPS compared to an external Firewire 400 HD with a speed of approximately 50MBPS, but the 7200 RPM speed will make it somewhat faster than the ATA66.

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_500_cube.html
     
  8. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #8
    Intech SpeedTools ATA Extended Capacity Driver
    allows drives above 128gb to fit in the Cube.

    Very limited number of video cards fit into the Cube though. There are many web sites on the G4 Cube mods.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    try cubeowner.com. People really know their stuff and have a great faq.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #10
    I'm into the Cube for 370 at moment.

    At this point, it is cheaper to keep nickel and diming myself to upgrade the Cube than to get the top of the line Mini that I want (like 800 cash plus I want more ram).
     
  11. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #11
    While a better video card would help (any Radeon or GeForce would be better than the Rage 128 or Rage 128 Pro you have now,) the Rage you have *CAN* run up to a 23" Cinema Display. You just need an ADC to DVI adapter. The ADC connection contains DVI. You just need a physical adapter.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #12
    I think the existing OEM Cube video card only has 16mb vram and I believe I need 64mb vram to run a 23" ACDisplay. At least, that's why I had the 1.5ghz silent upgrade mac mini PPC G4-- it had 64mb video ram compared to the 1.42ghz which only had 32mb vram. I'm getting a 256mb vram card for the Cube which should be everything I need... I think. I am running the display currently on a 12" Powerbook with 64 vram.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #13
    Sell the cube, sell the extra ram, sell the cpu upgrade, and sell the DVI card. Then you'll get out at least as much money as you put in and you can then afford a new mac mini.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #14
    First I want to play with the upgraded Cube! But okay. Good idea.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #15
    Full use of 48-bit LBA drives is not related to the type of IDE controller (no matter what Wikipedia says). It is related to the bootROM, and also needs OS 10.2 or later. The BootROM of Power Mac G4 (Mirrored Drive Doors), Xserve, Power Mac G5, and any other model introduced after June 2002 can accommodate these larger drives.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2544?viewlocale=en_US#bootrom
     
  16. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #16

    Thank you. I had planned to give up on getting the answer to this on the thread's third anniversary.
     

Share This Page