Tivo to Mac help...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Bubbasteve, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. Bubbasteve macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I am posting because this past Christmas I purchased an 80 hour Tivo and I would like to know if there is a way to transfer my recorded television shows from my Tivo to my 15" 1.5 Ghz Powerbook... I noticed that there is a USB drive but I can't seem to find a USB cord that has the same heads on each end...hopefully someone knows what I'm talking about.

    If anyone can help me out please leave a post...

    Thanks alot
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    You can only transfer TiVo shows to Windows. TiVo seems to be working on a Mac program, but who knows when we'll see that. You need to use the USB port for a network card and add the TiVo to you home network.
     
  3. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #3
    EDIT: Looks like grapes911 beat me to it. I didn't even see his post. I'm an idiot.
     
  4. Bubbasteve thread starter macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #4
    I'm not sure exactlty what you mean. What I'm taking it that you're suggesting is to get a USB cord and plug it in from the back of the Tivo to my Airport Extreme.... If that's the case that's what I thought about doing but I can't seem to find a USB cord that has the typical USB ends for each end....all of the cords that I've encountered have had different size ends for each side
     
  5. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #5
    I believe he's talking about a wireless card that plugs into your USB port. Then your wireless network on a Windows computer would recognize it.
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    No, you need a usb-ethernet adapter (wired or wireless). Then use ethernet to connect it to your router/hub (or wirelessly connect it).

    But remember, it doesn't work with macs.


    Edit: you got the better of me on this one :p

    Edit2: Something like this or this. But there are only certain ones that work with TiVo. Check their site for compatibility.

    Edit3: Here is there compatibility chart.
     

Share This Page