Tmobile iphone users: Visual Voicemail app is here! Youmail App

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by shanghei, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    YouMail officially released their iphone app onto the appstore which means tmobile users can signup for a youmail account and use youmail as there voicemail. Then use the YouMail app to check there voicemail.

    I personally have been using YouMail for the longest time since it has alot of great features but now that the iphone app is out its 1000 times better.

    And its all FREE.
     
  2. anamznazn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    anamznazn

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  3. iShater
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    Hmmm ... a single post to announce a product? ;)
     
  4. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #4
    I got no affiliation with youmail, but visual voicemail for tmobile people is something I thought I should mention here.
     
  5. Lord Sandwich
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    Note that us FlexPay users can't use this (or any other) 3rd-party voicemail service because conditional call forwarding is disabled. Wish I'd known this before choosing between pre- and post-paid. :(
     
  6. imfrog2002
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #6
    Hmm, looks like a cool app! I've installed it, can't wait to see how it works. *calls my phone from Skype*
     
  7. Neobond
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #7
    Says I cannot purchase YouMail... on phone or iTunes

    EDIT: NM got it to work now
     
  8. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    That's odd.

    I got the e-mail and just installed it earlier today. Seems like a nice enough app. Has the ability to upload contacts to Youmail, if you desire, so that your contacts names can show up in the VM alerts. However, the upload failed midway when I tried it (I'm not on WiFi though).

    I started using YouMail when there was the VM upgrade issue with T-Mobile and just kept using it when T-Mobile fixed the issue.

    I also dedicated my AOL Mail account, which I was not using at all, to VM's -- so basically it has gigabytes of space for me to leave them be if I wish. :D Otherwise I have it set up to SMS me alerts as well. Works pretty nicely. The app makes it a lot less cumbersome.
     
  9. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    The upload of contacts failed for me at first too, gotta try again.
     
  10. imfrog2002
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #10
    I like the app, and the ability to have custom messages, but I can't get the visual part to work. It just says, "(null) (null)" That's a big help. :rolleyes: Still, being able to select individual messages and not sort through the list by voice is nice. :D
     
  11. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #11
    "(null) (null)" means there is no first and last name basically no caller id however if a message was left you should be able to press the play button.
     
  12. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    On the second try, it failed at the 86th contact -- I'm pretty sure that's exactly where it failed the first time, too. Hmmm. This second time is with WiFi also. Oh well.

    Hopefully they'll continue developing this app and improve on it. It definitely has potential.
     
  13. dontwalkhand
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #13
    Will there be a push version of this app? That would be perfect for Voicemail notifications :)
     
  14. imfrog2002
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #14
    With mine, it sends me a text message when I have a new voicemail. That's usually enough for me. xP
     
  15. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #15
    The developers have mentioned that push will be utilized in the future.
     
  16. aerospace
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #16
    Is it possible to get push on tmobile?

    I would have thought it would need to go from apple to their carrier(At&t only) to you
     
  17. dontwalkhand
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #17
    Push works as long as you have an internet connection
     
  18. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #18
    Right, I was going to respond to this, but I myself am not completely sure... Apple's push works somewhat differently from Blackberry's push, right? With Blackberry, you can (I think) in principle have a BES that is hosted by anyone, and if you do this, then you have no special need for setup on the part of your phone provider, as far as I understand it -- just a data services connection (actually, FWIW, is this right?) But typically, consumers have BIS, and those are typically run by the provider. So it wasn't even enough to have a T-Mobile account with data services -- it had to be a Blackberry account for my BB features to work. I think it's the same for the Sidekick?

    Anyways, though, I think the server in the iPhone's case is owned by Apple (the client-facing server -- the developers need to have their own servers, which push to Apple, which in turn pushes to the iPhone), and so it's the same set of servers (internationally) for all service providers.

    This is how I understand it. So, as long as Apple does not do anything to block out non-AT&T users in the US from accessing the servers, the server should work whenever the iPhone has a data connection, even if the data is coming from T-Mobile?

    I guess we'll see for sure, soon enough.
     
  19. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    Now that 3.0 and push are out, it seems that it at least temporarily doesn't work with T-Mobile, unless I'm misunderstanding ... seems to be another hacktivation issue like Youtube. At least, AP Mobile is set to push for me and doesn't seem to be pushing anything.
     
  20. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #20
    :(
     
  21. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    Oh, sorry, I realize I didn't say this clearly. Youmail works fine. Push notification does not. So something will need to be fixed in the unlock/activate process for Push to be supported, assuming Youmail eventually gets it, before it's available for us.
     
  22. shanghei
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #22
    I understood correctly, I have tmobile and the biggest feature for 3.0 I was looking forward to was push notifications.
     
  23. mkrishnan
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #23
    In the Youtube case, the consensus seems to be right now that there's no fundamental reason that it shouldn't work, but something has changed about the way Apple does activation and the hackers have to figure out how to replicate it. Hopefully the same is true for Push.
     
  24. chstr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    chstr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #24
    is there ANY way to switch to postpay or whatever??? whats the difference? this really blows :(
     

Share This Page