to all the mac techies out there, i have a question about ram..

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by sevag1, Aug 30, 2002.

  1. sevag1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    #1
    in my quicksilver 733 tower, i have one 128 MB cl3 ram stick, and a 512 mb cl2 ram stick.. I was wondering, if i take out the 128mb cl3, will i notice a speed boost? since cl2 is faster than cl3...
    thnxs in advance
     
  2. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #2
    The speed advantage you will get in RAM-intensive apps will be less advantageous than having the extra 128 MB in there.
     
  3. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    The cl rating stands for CAS latency (don't ask me what CAS stands for).

    The 2-2-2 CAS rating is primarily important for people with higher front side bus speeds (i.e. overclockers). Lower latency equals increased stability when your system is running faster than it should.

    While it's a good idea to have lower latency RAM for general use, you won't "slow down" because of having mixed 2 and 3 rated RAM.
     
  4. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #4
    Just for the record, it stands for Column Address Strobe. ;)
     
  5. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #5
    if you're in OSX, i dont think you ever want to remove RAM :D :D
     
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Thanks. :)

    Computer acronyms run the whole gamut from archaisms to technical descriptions to humor...my favorite is TWAIN (technology without an interesting name).;)
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    Unless you were using PC RAM that wasn't Apple-tested and the public beta and early releases wouldn't boot.
     
  8. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #8
    is that really what it stands for?

    that's funky

    can't wait to wow some other nerds with that knowledge... :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  9. mc68k macrumors 68000

    mc68k

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    #10
    I learned what CUDA stands for!
    Capacitive Unit Discharge ASIC
    That's the reset switch on the motherboard.

    Don't underestimate the acronyms. My old boss said one of the reasons I was considered was that I knew what CMOS stood for. I was asked what CMOS does in a job interview. I was then asked jokingly what it stood for.

    Of course! It's Complimentary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor. That really impressed them. :)

    That was right after I got my A+ cert.
     
  10. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Heh...you love to tell that story...:p

    What other acronyms do people know, that are weird/rare/funny?
     
  11. shadowfax0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #12
    F.B.I. - Famous But Incompetent
    Whilst not technology driven, quite true unfortunately
     
  12. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #13
    being quite ignorant about ram, i have a question of my own. i just bought a ram chip from otherworldcomputing and on their site it said that my summer 2001 imac needed pc100 ram. when i went to install it, i saw that it looked different from the chip that came standard with my mac and the origional chip had a sticker that said pc133. the sys profiler says that my ram is running at 100 mhz but does anyone know if pc133 will be faster, or if the computer can actually handle it?

    edit: i forgot to mention that i ran the sys profiler after the new ram was installed. should i remove the new chip and see if my old ram runs at 133 mhz?
     
  13. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    PC100 vs PC133

    Here's the deal with RAM speeds...

    Faster RAM can run in a slower machine.
    Slower RAM can't run in a faster machine.

    Your machine has a 100MHz system bus, so PC100 RAM is all that's required. PC133 RAM will run just fine.

    Most times, a RAM chip that's too slow will prevent the computer from even booting.
     
  14. Draft macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    So, if I buy RAM, should I get the CL2 or the CL3 RAM? CL2 usually costs more, so I'd rather not have to spend more money.

    Draft
     
  15. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #16
    Unless you're overclocking your system or you're someone who has to have the highest end components, CL3 is fine.
     

Share This Page