Toggling Bonjour (mDNSResponder) now cant connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by eugenekhay, May 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    #1
    Hello

    So I had a small problem and while trying to fix it I created a big problem.

    A day ago every time my iMac (10.7.4) awoke from sleep it had this message:

    This Computer's local hostname "NAME" is already in use on this network. The name has been changed to "NAME"

    I found this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=883927
    which had some suggestions.

    I took this suggestion:

    Toggle Bonjour On/Off

    Launch the terminal and type:

    To turn Bonjour off:

    sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist

    To turn it back on:

    sudo launchctl load -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.mDNSResponder.plist


    And now my internet does not work.

    I am able to ping my router IP address but the signal will not go any further. I do not know what I changed but now I am stuck with no internet on that computer.

    Also I have parallels installed on the iMac and when I access the internet through windows it works. So when I performed that toggle I must have messed something up, but I cant figure out what.

    Please help me.:confused:
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Mattie Num Nums

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    What is your parallels computer name?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    #3
    My parallels computer has a different name then my Mac. This problem only started happening a few days ago after I did a software update, I have had parallels installed for a while. But my main problem is the fact that I can get onto the internet at all right now.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #4
    Restart your router. Is it an Apple router (Airport Express, Airport Extreme, Time Capsule)?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    #5
    I have a verizon fios router and an airport extreme bridged through it for better in other parts of the house.

    My mac has connection to both routers.

    I called verizon and we went through resetting both routers and all network settings on the computer.

    The problem is with some thing that happened when I toggled mDNSresponder ON/OFF as soon as I did that I was no longer able to connect to the internet. Every browser chrome/safari/firefox say they cannot get a connection.

    Chrome says DNS lookup failed.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    #6
    does anybody else have any suggestions please, I have tried resetting network, is there anything else that I can reset?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    #7
    Have same exact problem. Somebody please come through with a solution!!! :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     

Share This Page