Top row of buttons do not work (esc, f1, f2, etc)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by WillJS, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. WillJS macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #1
    None of them do their functions, even the num lock key doesn't light up. I Verified and repaired permissions, that didnt help. All the computer does is make that error "ding"... What's wrong here? :eek:

    EDIT: Expose (F9), F10, F11, and Dashboard work. So does eject.
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    What type of computer are you on. My brother had somthing similar on his MacBook Pro and the logic board had to be replaced.
     
  3. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You know you have to press Fn and the Function Key for F1 - F7 on a Macbook, I don't know why esc isn't working though, though I've never used it on mine, though try Apple==>Shutdown and then press escape and see if the box goes away.
     
  5. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #5

    OK, that worked. When I call them by F"x", I mean the brightness up/down, volume up/down/mute don't work.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    In Sys Prefs > Keyboard, is "Use the F1-F12 keys to control software features" turned on?
     
  7. WillJS thread starter macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #7

    Ahh! That was it! It was checked to to control them, I needed to press fn. Thank you so very much :cool:

    Thanks for the help all! :D
     

Share This Page