torn btwn two iPods.. need advice

Discussion in 'iPod' started by lifeisgood360, Jun 26, 2006.

1. lifeisgood360 macrumors newbie

hey guys

my 3G iPod 15gig is almost dead now.. 2-3 hrs of battery left.. i've been using it for like 3 years i think.. and now is the time to get a new iPod

a lot of my friends have the iPod nano and the video but both just don't suit me well.. i can't imagine myself watching videos on an iPod (cuz.. i just don't watch tv) and the iPod nano.. i've tried my friends but it's too small for me--i have difficulty scrolling and stuff

and i have a $50 credit thru the battery replacement for the 3G iPods and it seems like a perfect time to buy a new companion

i've been looking at the refurb apple store for a while and it seems like i'll choose from a 4 gb 2nd gen iPod mini which is $150-$50 so $100 OR the 4 G iPod color 20 gb which is $200-$50 so $150..

when i run i usually don't bring along my iPod so that really isn't a deciding factor for me..

any suggestions? thanks!

2. fatties macrumors regular

the ipod mini is sturdy... i've dropped mine countless times from the treadmill/ cross trainer/ just randomly and it still works. not sure about the ipod though as i have a 5g one. also colour is nice even though its like 'not in' but its just more exciting!

the only thing for me is that the ipod mini requires discipline to maintain 4gb (3.7 something really) of music and i like the idea of just chucking everything and anything into the bigger pod...

3. thedude110 macrumors 68020

thedude110

Do tell more.

Why are you considering the color screen? Because of the storage or because you want to put photos on your 'pod? Or some other reason.

If you don't care about videos or pics, I would suggest getting a 4G w/out the color screen. You can get 20 gigs for about $100 on e-bay.

This link also takes you to a non-color (I think), refurbished 20 gig 'pod for a little more than $150.

4. lifeisgood360 thread starter macrumors newbie