Torrents

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by aaronb, Jan 15, 2007.

1. aaronb macrumors regular

I am completely new to torrents and had a few questions.

I found a Ben Gibbard acoustic set that I would like to download and so I downloaded the torrent to my desktop. Then I downloaded Azureus and double clicked my torrent to download using the application. However, absolutely no progress is being made with the torrent and my login information on the torrent site I'm downloading from is saying I'm firewalled.

Now I know that OS X has a firewall system built in, but should I disable it to download this quicker? Or can I even disable it at all?

Sorry I'm incredibly new to this and I knew I could come here for some help with it!

2. quigleybc macrumors 68030

quigleybc

Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    Holla

so, start by going to Sys prefs->Sharing->Firewall->Click new.

Port name-other, name it Azureus or whatever

Add the port number you want to open. AZ should tell you what the port number is in the setup wizard thingy

that's it for that.

if you're on a network on a router, then you need to forward your ports, with a static ip bla bla, snore...do some searches on here for that stuff.

Make sure you're downloading a torrent with a lot (at least 10) seeders so it'll have some speed.

good luck

For more good LEGAL concert downloads check out this site

Also, for legal downloads from public sites, try using TRANSMISSION. It's a good torrent client for beginners, (Azureus is much too confusing IMO)

3. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

dllavaneras

Once you do that, make sure you have seeds. Also, make sure your download is legal.

4. aaronb thread starter macrumors regular

Alright, I'm pretty sure I did it right but let me run through this.