Total Annihilation in OS X

Discussion in 'Games' started by d-fi, Feb 6, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    Hey everyone

    Was looking through a list of old games and i saw Total Annihilation. I had some great times playing it on the PC and would love to play it on my new G4 iBook.

    But i don't want to buy it and find out that it wont play in OS X since it's an old mac game. I've looked for a OS X patch but it doesn't look like there is one.

    Does anyone know if it will play in OS X ?

    any help would be greatly appreciated:)

    thanks
    d-fi
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #2
    Grab the demo. Run it in Classic, and hope it works. Then you should at least have an idea on how it runs in Classic.

    There isn't an OS X version, but who knows if it runs in Classic. There was supposed to be a sequel (that also had a chance to come to the Mac), but something went wrong. Google it!
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    BaghdadBob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    Gorgeous, WA
    #3
    TA was the bomb. Also the only RTS I've been better than OK at.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #4
    i have ta gold for the mac. its my favorite rts ever. does it run in classic?

    yes and no.

    yes it runs. theres slight graphic glitches if i remember correctly and music doesnt work. music was the best part.... :(

    the problem is, is that its one of those combo cds with half data half music. and osx opens those as 2 cds...not 1...

    if anyone knows a way to make it look at it as one, tell me!
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    mj_1903

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Make a disk image and lump all the data into one?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #6
    No. That's doesn't work.

    TA runs under OS X classic, but not too well. Graphic glitches, no music and sometimes the mouse freaks out (way too fast cursor movement, no clicks accepted).

    Nonetheless, I still play TA often with a friend of mine. :)

    BTW: TA 2 is on the way! Let's hope that it comes for Mac, too!
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #7
    Has anyone tried VPC?

    TA is old enougth (1997 for PC) that it might run ok in VPC. i don't own VPC so i have no idea on how iT might function.

    Just a thought :)

    d-fi

    btw thanks for all the input everyone:D
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #8
    oh man i have the pc versions. i'll try in a while and report back. it should work, it doesnt require or use a 3d card at all.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #9
    Theres' a way to avoid that. It's a kludge, but it should work: burn the music on to a separate CD, and put that in after starting a mission/battle. It works (at least on the PC version) b/c all the unit, etc., data stays in memory during the battles.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #10
    Buying VPC is more expensive than grabbing a copy of the Mac version on eBay.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #11
    That's OK, it doesn't matter. They're two "sessions". Many game CDs look like that. Everything still works fine. To eject, click either one and hit F12.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #12
    Yea i know it's expensive:eek: But i'm planing on buying VPC when the new version comes out because i have some small (but importand) apps that don't have any mac equivalents. Plus it's a good way for me check compatibility when i do my programing projects.

    But if it would run TA that would be a nice bonus:)
     

Share This Page