touch + car = ?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by OrangeCuse44, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    Has anyone used a touch with a car iPod adapter and have it work? Im referring to one that connects through the dock connector. I know its the same size but there have been reports of the touch software not working with peripherals used for gen 5.5.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    Works fine on my older Alpine stereo with iPod hookup.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    I got a Belkin TuneFM adapter and it works just fine, except with the old ipod it used to display the FM frequency on the ipod screen so you could se what it was set at and alter it, etc... on the touch this doesnt appear, it just says accessory/device connected and then starts to play.

    You can still alter the FM frequency but you just can see what you are changing it to.

    I would suggest buying an iTrip that has the little LCD screen on it.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Vigilante

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Florida.
    #4
    Buy a new car, my Civic has an audio port, and the audio male-male adapter is only $4 at Wal-Mart :D
     
  5. aft
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #5
    the griffin tune flex works well for a holder and charger if you have an AUX interface.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Perth, Australia.
    #6
    If you have an older car, you could just buy a little cassette adaptor, with a headphone input jack on it. They cost like 2 bucks.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #7
    I have a 2005 Scion tC. My friend has the iSimple adapter installed thru Best Buy and it sounds great. Thats what i would want.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #9
    By yours, are you referring to the iSimple adapter?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    On my Belkin, I cannot seem to find the FM station that it is broadcasting to. Still, doesn't work for me.


     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #11
    For those that are interested the Touch works fine with the Dension Icelink system. Steering wheel controls also work.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #12
    I'm planning on getting a Griffin iTrip (Dock). Has anybody gotten one to charge their touch with a cell phone car charger? In another forum, somebody mentioned their wall charger doesn't seem to work with it. Griffin's website claims compatibility, but the owner's manual hasn't been updated for the newer iPod models.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #13
    My wall charger and in-car dock work fine with my touch. No problems at all.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #14
    Yeah too bad the car will put a big dent in your wallet. I won't have enough cash after the male-male adapter; then I'll just be stuck with 2 males...sausagefest is whack.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #16
    Nice. tC's baby!
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #17
    Could you install an audio port in your car?

    all i have is a stock CD player in my car and i cant buy a new one b/c i just spent all of my money on my ipt :p
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #18
    Crutchfield has a great guide for iPod connections in a car. Including stock stereos etc. Picked mine up for about $90 for the stock stereo on my PT Cruiser.
    Site Here
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #19
    I just got an Alpine 9870 head unit installed into my Beetle and the Touch works perfectly on it! No need to even touch the Touch. I can safely access my ipod now. There was one trick that took me a bit to figure out. In order to access songs, artists, playlists, etc., i needed to turn off shuffle on the iPod Touch. Ummm where do you do that? The manual was not clear on that. It's not in settings. Answer: Click on the album art while you have a song playing. It will flip to the other side showing the songs on that album and other info. On the top right you will see a shuffle icon. When it's blue, it's on shuffle, touch it, it turns white, then the shuffle is turned off. When it's turned off like this, then the Alpine units work correctly.:D
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #20
    Yes but the iPod display will no longer show the song info or any settings from the settings menu. Bummer.

    Still, it works in ipod interface mode - and that seems to work better than the fully integrated mode anyway. Just if you switch to the wrong disc # on the radio, you are screwed.

    I submitted a bug report to Apple about this, and I know what they plan to do with it, but unfortunately I am under an NDA as to their plans on fixing the bug.

    But if I could say something, it would be: "don't hold your breath".
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    NY/NY
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #22
    I got a Kenwood KDC-MP428 and I just bought a KCA-iP500 interface iPod and its working excellent.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    lordjonny

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #23
    my new pioneer headunit also connects fine, the ipod screen comes up on the headunit screen which is a bit **** as id rather use the ipod easier and COOLer :D mite hook it up as aux in sometime in the near future:rolleyes:
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #24
    JVC head unit adapter does not work :( hopefully it will be fixed in a firmware update cause im still using my old ipod with my ipod interface..
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    derryquinn

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007

Share This Page