Touchscreen LCD and OS X

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by baby duck monge, Nov 10, 2003.

  1. baby duck monge
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #1
    Does anyone out there know of any small (less than 10") touchscreen LCD monitors that work with OS X?

    I have a way to get a cube for relatively cheap and was hoping to run it through the monitor for simplicity's sake (it would be used as a media center/file server, so i would not need a keyboard or mouse very often).

    Any information would be infinitely excellent. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. baby duck monge
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #2
    Anyone?

    What if the size restriction was removed? Does anyone know of any touchscreen LCD monitors or any size that work with OS X?

    How about CRT monitors?

    How about really crazy remote control type objects that could be used to select movies to play and control the basic functions of a music player?

    Anything?
     
  3. MoparShaha
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I know you can use a touchscreen with OS X. There's a company that can put a touch-screen interface onto any monitor. I saw them at Macworld SF this year. They had iMacs, eMacs, Cinema Displays, and ordinary CRT's using touchscreen. They put some coating on the screen that makes it touchscreen. Very cool stuff. Sorry I don't remember the company though. But it can be done, and I've seen it work in person if thats any help. Try a search on google.
     
  4. Dreadnought
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    There was a company in the Netherlands that was rebuilding Imacs for retail stores as a cashregister, mostly for barbershops. The screen was adjusted with some kind of glass plate which they fitted in front of it to get a touchscreen. Don't know the name of the company however, and this was only done with the old crt Imacs. They hadn't have a solutions yet for the flatscreen Imacs because the glass was to heavy for the arm.
     
  5. realityisterror
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #5
  6. redAPPLE
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #6
    there was a guy who connected a mac mini to a 10" touchscreen.
     
  7. IDANNY
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
  8. IDANNY
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #8
  9. crashnburn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #10
    Back from the dead. :)

    Any cheaper alternatives to do so now?
     
  10. MacVidCards
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    A company I work with has a 12" touch screen (maybe larger) that was connected to Mac Mini to run a still-born "Photo Booth" they had me design interior for.

    I could ask them which one they used if you can't find any other info.
     
  11. Transporteur
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Acer has got a 23" full HD touchscreen display on the market.
    Costs about 250€ in Europe, so I guess around $300.
     
  12. MstrPBK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    MstrPBK

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #13
    what geration of Mac Mini's are you tlaking about ...

    I have a:
    • [*]Model Name: Mac mini
      [*]Model Identifier: Macmini2,1

    Would this work with a touch screen; 'cuz my moniter is beginnning to behave like I need a new one.

    ----------

    I have a:

    * Model Name: Mac mini
    * Model Identifier: Macmini2,1

    Would this work with a touch screen; 'cuz my moniter is beginnning to behave like I need a new one.
     
  13. codymac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #14
  14. tamvly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
  15. ActionableMango
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #16
    iPad + "Air Display" app should do the trick.

    This 8 year old thread isn't even about Mac Pros.
     

Share This Page